Manic Monday – Choices and Decisions

Today is Monday.  That means it’s time for Manic Monday – a meme designed to give your mind a workout to clear out the cobwebs from the weekend.  You can either click the link in the words Manic Monday above or click the graphic in my left sidebar.

So, here we go.  Are you ready?  While you read MY answers think about what YOUR answers might be.

What is one thing that you wanted to do this summer but didn’t?  For the last "I don’t know how many" years I have attended our denomination’s national convention.  However, this year I didn’t get to attend because the kids were going to Sylvan every day to prepare them to return to school.  It’s always a time of fun and seeing old friends.  Our denomination is like one really big family.  Most of us attended our denominational Bible College.  So, you see people that you normally would have long forgotten about.  Yet every summer you get to see one another.  It’s like a family reunion.  I missed that this year.  I won’t be missing it again!!

If you lived a hundred years ago, what job would you’ve had?  Well, first of all, I’m GLAD I didn’t live a hundred years ago because there was no air conditioning.  hahahahaha  Seriously, I think my  mindset would be different back then than it is now.  I don’t think that we would have been farmers.  Ron is a business man.  I think somehow he would still be a business man.  Thankfully, because I can’t see me ever living on a farm.  But like I said my mindset would have been different.  IF I worked outside the home at all I think I would have been a schoolteacher.  Thankfully though God put me in the RIGHT era.  Whew!!

What are some of the most persistent and challenging obstacles in your everyday life?
  This question is the easiest for me to answer.  Right now I struggle physically with fibromyalgia – which brings pain.  But mostly I am learning that I have to fight the mental game.  For the most part I’ve just given in to how I feel.  It has kept me from doing things.  I am finding though that I can do more than I think I can do if I just make myself.  Sometimes it works better than others but I can usually make myself go.  Now there are still some days that it just ain’t gonna happen no matter how positive the attitude.  Telling the difference is the challenge.

5 thoughts on “Manic Monday – Choices and Decisions

  1. Running our kids around really takes up so much of the summer, doesn't it? 😉 I hope you are able to attend your convention next summer.

    I'm so glad that I didn't live 100 years ago either. My, how much has changed!

    Thanks for playing and have a great week.
    Lisa

  2. I'm so sorry you missed the convention.
    Next time will be an even happier event.

    Fibromyalgia is very hard to deal with. Like you say, staying positive helps. But it takes strength to be positive each and every day, doesn't it?

    I hope this week will be a good week.

  3. As a contributor to the Laced With Grace Devotional Site I want thank you for your faithful readership. September is our one-year anniversary. We are please to announce we have a permanent new address. http://www.lacedwithgrace.com Please change your link to include this new address.

    God's Blessings,

    Laurel

  4. <a href="http://www.ladylike4.com">Jennifer Not So Anonymous</a><p>
    I wished you had been to your convention. It sounds like you really enjoyed going.<p>
    You are very right in that the times would be different. I was going to put something like that in my answer, but I opted not too.<p>Oh, I hope you get so you can bear your disease and think mostly positive. It is really devastating when you find out something like that is happening. I think you are strong though from what I read and you seem to have strong faith in higher things, so that should pull you through.

Leave a Reply

