Rest Ministries Devotion – 9/11

When I read this devotion in my email box this morning I realized that I could have written it myself.  I knew I had to share it.  I pray it speaks to you whether you suffer with a chronic illness or not.

"’If anyone would come after Me, he must deny himself
and take up his cross and follow Me."
(Matthew 16:24 NIV)

"Why every Sunday morning?" I tearfully asked my
husband, Danas he got ready for church. As usual I
had pushed to get up in time to go, but my body just
wouldn’t let me.

The one thing about having a chronic disease that has
bothered me most is having to give up so much –
especially going to church to worship and praise the Lord
with fellow believers. So, once again this morning,
I was wallowing in self-pity.

After Dan left, I turned to my usual Bible
reading and devotions. And, as usual, God began
to "once again" speak to me. (Sometimes I wonder how
HE has time to work for others since I demand so much
of His time).

In the Scripture above, Jesus had just shared with His
disciples that He would "soon suffer many things, and be
delivered up to be killed at the hands of the chief priests,
elders, and teachers of the law.

Peter didn’t want to accept losing his Savior and leader
and proceeded to tell Jesus so; but Jesus had to rebuke him.
He told Peter, you have in mind the "things of men, not
the things of God."

This spoke loudly to me this morning. I was (again)
thinkingonly of what I was going through, and having
to give up "in the physical," and forgetting that God
has so much He wants to share with us "right where we are."

He reminded me that "even my home can become a house
of prayer and praise." Jesus is always right here with me and
ready to be a part of anything I want to share with Him.
I don’t have to be with others all the time in order to
praise Him and "learn at His feet."

So….Jesus and I "had church" right here in my living room. And,
what a blessed time it was!

I always have the "hope" that maybe next week I will have
strength and energy to get ready and actually attend church with
my husband. If not – then I have the blessed assurance that Jesus
will once again meet me right where I am.

Dear Father, I thank you for the privilege of spending special time
alone with You. Thank You for reminding me that I need to think
more of "the things of God, and less time thinking of the things
of men." To God be all glory and praise! Amen.

************

*********************************************************
***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Alice Ervin lives in Dayton, Ohio with her beloved Husband, Dan.
Alice suffers daily with chronic fatigue, Fibromyalgia, Multiple
Chemical
Sensitivity, to name just a few. But, Alice never forgets that she
doesn’t
have to suffer alone. Not only is Jesus ever present to help carry
the load,
but she has her supportive HopeKeepers Group who also help in so
many
ways.

Leave a Reply

