Be Thankful? For Pain?

This was my Rest Ministries devotion this morning.  I could have written it myself (although I didn’t).  So, I thought it might speak to someone besides me today too.

"Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one
body you were called to peace. And be thankful." Colossians 3:15
(NIV)

Pain. It gets very annoying, especially when it constant and always
demanding attention. When I wake up, I can always tell if it is
going to be a big pain day. It immediately makes it’s presence
known! Often it is the kind of pain that is exhausting in it’s
loudness; but I cannot sit still or rest. Instead I often feel as if
I have to keep moving to "run away from the pain." That does not
work though, does it?

When a flare comes along, no one knows how long it will last. I have
pain every day, but the flares have really become intolerable. All
nerve endings are screaming, and sometimes it feels like even my
finger nails hurt! Walking, sitting, and even lying down all hurt.
It is hard to have peace, very hard to have a quiet heart.

But the scriptures say, "Let…Let the peace of Christ rule in your
hearts." Let, it is an act of the will. Let the peace of
Christ…let peace rule. In spite of the pain, or maybe because of
the pain, we are to "Let, allow, the peace of Christ to rule."

I sit quietly in my comfortable chair, with my Bible on my lap,
either reading the Psalms as a prayer; or listening to gentle praise
music. I make myself sit still and picture the peace of God flowing
over me. "I let the peace of Christ rule in my heart, since as a
member of Christ’s body I was called to peace. And be thankful."

Be thankful? Be thankful in the midst of such pain? Yes! Because
this pain brings me to Him. It drives me to Him because He is the
only one who can provide peace to my heart even when I am in such
demanding pain. Because His peace is constant, always available,
always there in my time of need. I am thankful!

About the Author: Sandra Platt is the wife of a Minister, the Mother
of two, and has two very spoiled cats she adores. She enjoys
writing, reading, cross stitching, and being an active Pastor’s
wife. She will soon be living in North West Kentucky.

Leave a Reply

