Manic Monday – 10/22 – Legal Matters

Would you be able to serve on a jury and sentence the defendant to the death penalty if he/she were found guilty of a crime that the court felt warranted the death penalty?

I would gladly serve on a jury where the defendant might receive the death penalty.  I fully believe in the death penalty.  I have never even been called up for jury duty.  But I would serve if called upon – without a second thought.

Have you ever faked being ill to avoid doing something you didn’t want to do?

I have been known to call in sick to work when I wasn’t actually too sick to go in.  I’m not proud of it but I have done it before.

Would you state you were guilty of a crime you didn’t commit to free a loved one?

Probably not.  If someone (anyone) has done something that warrants a person going to jail or even just being arrested then they probably deserve what punishment they would receive.  They wouldn’t learn anything if I took their punishment for them. 

3 thoughts on “Manic Monday – 10/22 – Legal Matters

  1. Your answers are great. I love the Manic Monday posts, it brings out some of the best personalities on the web.

    This is Jennifer from ladylike4.com, so not anonymous.

  2. I just got called to jury duty, but told them I have kids to care for. We'll see if they let me pass. Otherwise, I have been a primary witness in a criminal trial, so they might just drop me like a hot potato!
    Michelle

  3. I've been pondering your answer to the third question. I agree that I would not say I was guilty of something to let a guilty person off the hook. I, too, believe sometimes going through the punishment produces the desire growth and maturity. But…my reason for denial would be because I do my best not to lie. I was, however, pondering the wording of your answer: "They wouldn't learn anything if I took their punishment for them." Isn't that what Christ did for us? I certainly learned tons by Christ choosing to take my punishment at the cross. 'Course I am taking into consideration He didn't lie and say he did the sins; He only took the punishment for them. :>)

    Many Blessings,
    Holly

Leave a Reply

