Unbelievable

I just finished reading Escape by Carolyn Jessop – a former polygamist.  I am in shock.  Her entire life was a tumultous existence.  I think I am basically in shock at the abuse of all kinds that she and her children had to endure.  Words just fail me.  Un believable.  I knew nothing about polygamy, other than the obvious, until I read this book.  The men in the FLDS believe that they must have at least three wives in order to get to heaven.  And the wives have to be totally obedient to their husbands – including in abusive ways – in order to obtain salvation.  Then entire time I was reading this book I just could not shake how difficult it would be to convince any of these women that God is a loving God who wants to love them.  It’s just so sad.  So very very sad.

One thought on “Unbelievable

Leave a Reply

