Pressure on Teens Today

I am absolutely speechless about a story that I just read on another friend’s blog.  It is about a very self-conscious, shy young girl with poor self-esteem.  She was 13 years old when she hung herself in her closet while her parents were in the kitchen – because of hateful classmates/adults played a prank on her involving what she believed to be a boy who liked her on MySpace.  If anyone has heard one story about the dangers of MySpace for our kids you have heard a hundred.  This is one more to add to the pile.  Go here to read about Tina Meier.  Then come back to comment.

Lauren has been wanting a Myspace account for a long time.  A couple of months ago I decided to get one to feel it out.  I do NOT like what I have seen there.  Therefore, she is not allowed to have an account there.  I’m not completely comfortable with having one there myself.  But I want to keep up with what their friends are saying and doing.  It helps me to keep a protective eye on their generation.  When I explained to Lauren why she couldn’t have an account she understood.  She currently has a Shoutlife page – which is a Christian site similar to Myspace. 

I feel like I am being a responsible parent by keeping an eye on the internet.  The kids are allowed some freedom here but I am always one step behind them.  It’s my job to protect them.  I don’t want to smother them.  What good would that do?  Eventually they are going to be out there.  But for now I will keep an eye out. 

But this poor girl was taken advantage of because of the heartless actions of an adult.  That just sickens me.  Our girls today have very fragile self-esteem at this age.  We must guard it with everything we are.  We never know what route Satan will take to get at them. 

Talk to your kids!!  And when you do – be honest with them!  They need to know that they can trust us and that we have their best interests at heart.  Leave no stone unturned.  You never know when your sitting down to talk with them will make all the difference in the world.

One thought on “Pressure on Teens Today

  1. Great post and blog.

    I’ve read your blog… Soooo many folks of ministry are dealing with different physical ailments and such. I have always had to deal with my ADD and staying on track.

    I see that Proverbs 31 Ministries is on your blogroll too. Lysa and Art have been church members here at our church for a long time.

    Pam, if it's not too much trouble can I ask you something?

    I'm frustrated with my blog. As a pastor of a large church, I have close to 1,000 readers a day on my blog, but still have a very low authority on Technorati. I want people to see this beyond North Carolina, but I guess I don't know how to get people to link and that seems to be the issue. I mean, I’ve learned that this is because I don’t have enough links to my blog site.

    Why does this matter? Because I want to start reaching out to people beyond just the church, and to do that I need to get this blog up higher on the search engines.

    I was wondering if you would be willing to put in a link exchange with me at http://www.robsingleton.net. If so, please send me an email to robtherev@gmail.com showing me where you’ve linked it and I will do the same. I know you will want to make sure we are on the up and up, so please check out our church, http://www.southbrookchurch.com and my blog to see if you would be comfortable with doing this. I've seen enough and know that I am.

    Look forward to hearing from you!

    Pastor Rob Singleton
    robtherev@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

