A Little Snip Here A Little Slice There

In case you haven’t figured it out, the title is about Ron’s surgery he had on Friday.  I can’t believe I haven’t written about it yet.  I guess I’ve been so consumed with school for next year that poor poor pitiful Ron has fallen between the cracks.  Well, MOST of him has fallen through the cracks – he kind of gets stuck at the wrist with that huge bandage on his arm/hand.  Poor guy!  He’s done pretty well actually.  Of course, I’ve stopped counting how many times I’ve gotten smacked in the head with that big honking bandage in the middle of the night.  I’m going to buy a football helmet today to wear to bed.  It’s either that or start hitting him back.

Seriously though, he is doing really well.  His pain has been fairly minimal.  Of course if it had been me with my pathetic pain receptors I would probably feel like someone was stabbing me over and over and over again.  He won’t get that bandage off until Thursday.  He is anxious for that to happen.  He’s doing well with his left hand but he was not born to use his left hand for a reason – he stinks at it.  HAHA  But I kind of like being the one to have to take care of him instead of the other way around.  He apologized for being so helpless when he asked for a glass of water on Saturday.  When I brought him the water I said "in sickness and in health. – I’m glad to return the favor".  I feel honored that he needs me.  It’s kind of scary to think of what he had done.  The surgeon sliced open the heel of his hand in the center where the hand meets the wrist.  They he sliced the muscle that surrounds the nerves in the carpal tunnel.  By releasing that muscle it released the pressure on those nerves, which releases the pressure on them and relieves the symptoms.  OUCH!!

The MIL of the Year is here for a while since Ron had his surgery.  We are eating well in spite of the fact that our family cook is one handed.  But there is always "good eats" when my MIL of the Year is in the kitchen.  She has been a great help.  She is also going to do a few things for Brian & Kim’s kids this evening.  They are part of our family too – so I’m letting them borrow her.  So, they are also gaining a benefit from my MIL of the Year!!  We are all just one great big happy family.

The kids are home from school today – it’s President’s Day.  I love it when they are home.  I still miss them when they are gone to school all day.  They love it and I’m so glad that they do – but I still miss them.  We still aren’t sure what the plan is for school next year.  They were accepted at one of the Magnet Schools.  However, it’s not the one that we wanted.  So, we are continuing to pray about it.  We’ll be getting a "letter of intent" that we have to sign in a couple of weeks.  So, we have to decide soon.  Please continue to pray for us.  We thought having options would be the answer but we’ve realized that it really just makes the decision more difficult.  We are praying for  God to show himself in a cloud a speak the name of the school we are to go to.  What are the chances of that happening?  Yeah, that’s what I was afraid of. 

Leave a Reply

