One of Those Teachable Moments

Last night we were coming home from eating dinner with Ron’s dad, stepmom and their friends.  WE ate in Smyrna, which is about 30 minutes from where we live.  I like to listen to the radio but Lauren likes to listen to CDs.  Lauren was riding with me.  Anyway, she didn’t want to listen to the radio so she chose a CD from my collection in the car (which she says are all boring music – HA).  She chose a Steven Curtis Chapman CD.  I don’t listen to a lot of SCC.  But she put it in and she knew every single word to those songs (even thought he is BORING – HAHAHAHA).  I was enjoying her singing right next to me.  My heart swelled to hear her singing songs about God.  I thanked the Lord for children who have learned the lessons we have tried to teach them all these years – to listen to songs that are positive, scripture based and bring glory to God.  Then she wanted to hear the song Shackles on another CD.  If you don’t know the song here are the lyrics and a link to the song on You Tube so you can hear it as well:

"Shackles (Praise You)"

Whoo!
It sure is hot out here
Ya know?
I don’t mind thought
Just glad to be free
Know what I’m saying, uh!

Take the shackles off my feet so I can dance
I just wanna praise you
(What’cha wanna do?)
I just wanna praise you
(Yeah, yeah)
You broke the chains now I can lift my hands
(Uh feel me?)
And I’m gonna praise you
(What’cha gon do?)
I’m gonna praise you

In the corners of mind
I just can’t seem to find a reason to believe
That I can break free
Cause you see I have been down for so long
Feel like the hope is gone
But as I lift my hands, I understand
That I should praise you through my circumstance

Take the shackles off my feet so I can dance
I just wanna praise you
I just wanna praise you
You broke the chains now I can lift my hands
And I’m gonna praise you
I’m gonna praise you

Everything that could go wrong
All went wrong at one time
So much pressure fell on me
I thought I was gon lose my mind
But I know you wanna see
If I will hold on through these trials
But I need you to lift this load
Cause I can’t take it anymore

Take the shackles off my feet so I can dance
I just wanna praise you
I just wanna praise you
You broke the chains now I can lift my hands
And I’m gonna praise you
I’m gonna praise you

Been through the fire and the rain
Bound in every kind of way
But God has broken every chain
So let me go right now

Take the shackles off my feet so I can dance
I just wanna praise you
I just wanna praise you
You broke the chains now I can lift my hands
And I’m gonna praise you
I’m gonna praise you
[repeat x3]

Take them off
What’cha gonna do, yeah

Take the shackles off my feet so I can dance
I just wanna praise you
I just wanna praise you
You broke the chains now I can lift my hands
And I’m gonna praise you
I’m gonna praise you

I asked her if she knew what the chains and shackles were.  She said she didn’t so I told her it was sin and the things that the Devil uses to keep us from having a close relationship with Christ.  We talked some more about the song and how Satan tries to bind us.  My spirit was praising the Lord.  It was amazing.  She wanted to ride around some more so we could listen to more music and talk.  Music is a powerful tool that can be used for good or evil.

Leave a Reply

