Will You Be Changed?

What a way to start the day!  I had my regular monthly doctor’s appointment this morning.  The office is in Cool Springs/Franklin.  It normally takes about 20-25 minutes to get there.  This morning it took THREE HOURS!  I had heard on the news before leaving home that there was an accident on 65 South in the general vicinity of where I get off to go to his office.  They had closed 65S in the area.  It was the worst traffic jam I have ever been in – even on trips.  Follow this link to see a brief article about the accident. There is also a video showing the site.  It was very sad.  It made me think how fragile life is and how quickly the end can come.  When a person is sick and dies it is usually an expected and sometimes welcome experience for the person as it means their suffering is over.  I wondered how the person driving the SUV must have felt in that second they realized they were going to be in an accident.  Did they wonder which direction they needed to steer in order to avoid the accident?  Were they singing along with the radio?  Did they think about their family?  Did they think about the last conversation they had with their spouse?  Did they wonder if they hugged their children enough?  Did they think about what would happen if they had only left a few seconds earlier/later?  Did they think about where they would spend eternity?  Did they imagine themselves standing before their Maker?  Life can change in the blink of an eye.  I wondered if they were prepared to spend eternity with the Lord or if they were, at that moment, in the presence of satan.  The sight of the accident made me think of how many hurting people there are all around me.  Do I smile enough to them?  Is Christ visible in my day to day actions?  Do I show others the love of Christ when I interact with them?  Or do I display judgment and negativity?  Do others feel better after spending time in my presence or do they feel worse?  Do I affect them at all?  Have I been Jesus to someone today?  I prayed today for the family members of the driver of that SUV.  And I prayed that my life would also be changed because THEY met Jesus today.

How will you respond after reading this?  Will you let Christ change you? 

3 thoughts on “Will You Be Changed?

  1. It sure made me think about those things when we were commenting back and forth as you dealt with the delay – It sure made me be more careful as I drove to church tonight in snow and sleet. My resolve was to keep short accounts and to share Christ every chance I get!

  2. Great food for thought, Pam. Thanks for sharing. What a challenge it is to bring Christ forth into every aspect of our lives. We have so much to offer the world through Him, and if we take the time to do so and affect the people we are around in a positive way, we are definitely on His mission!

Leave a Reply

