Knowing Your Limits

Knowing Your Limits

I am currently reading the book Boundaries by Dr. Henry Cloud & Dr. John Townsend.  I’m not really far into it yet.  But I am discovering all the areas of my life that could be different by knowing my limits in every aspect of daily life.

Unfortunately (or fortunately – depending on your perspective) one of the first chance I am actively choosing to use this method is in my workout routine.  Not quite the place you expect boundaries to be a “bad” thing.  For some people the more intense the workout the better.  You know, push past the wall and all that jazz.  Where is the need for a boundary in that?  But about 8 weeks ago I began working out with a personal trainer at Urban Active Fitness gym.  How that can be a bad thing?  Let’s just say the term “too much of a good thing” is true.

I have learned that I have limitations because of my physical health.  I figured it is working out so it would be good for me.  So the harder I work the better it will be for me.  WRONG!  So my trainer and I made some adjustments to accomodate my physical condition.  STILL WRONG!  After each workout I would go into a fibro flare which would put me in bed and OUT of the daily life of my family.  THE VERY THING I WAS TRYING TO AVOID.  It was hard for me to see this.  Last summer had such great results – I was walking everyday, sometimes twice a day.  I was stretching and doing floor exercises at home every day, sometimes twice a day.  Now I figured by adding in a personal trainer things would get every better.  WRONG!

So last night Ron and I talked and decided that the working out at the gym with a trainer was the common denominator in my increased fibro flare ups.  So, we decided to let it go.  It is so hard for me to admit that I can’t do something.  It’s not hard for me to admit that I don’t WANT to do something.  But I wanted this so bad.  I want desperately to get better/healthier.  It’s hard for me to admit that I have to limit myself in something I so desperately want to accomplish.  However, you can’t make a fibro-wracked body do something it just can’t do.

I have learned once again that I have a limit.  I have discovered a boundary.  I have learned that when I step across said boundary it is UNhealthy for me.  If I stay on the SAFE side of the boundary my life and body feel more balanced and healthier.  I admit that right now I feel like a quitter.  But I’m trying to overcome those negative feelings and see this as a positive sign.  It’s a sign that is directing me to a healthier, happier and more involved wife/parent/friend/person.

What limits do you have to face?  What boundaries do you have that need to be highlighted in your life?  It’s not easy.  But it will be worth it to recognize them and abide by them.  I’m sure of it!

Leave a Reply

