I Have An Invisible Illness

Invisible Illness Week is coming up in a few weeks (Sept. 13-19).  This post is to written to bring awareness to not only my invisible illness but to open up the door to allow you, if you also live with an invisible illness, to shine the light and help others realize your illness exists even if noone can see it.  If you suffer with an illness not visible to those around you please consider posting this on your blog or FB to help bring it to light so we can support one another.  Please post a link to your blog in my comments so I can visit and support you.

30 THINGS ABOUT MY INVISIBLE ILLNESS YOU MAY NOT KNOW

1. The illness I live with is:  Fibromyalgia & Depression
2. I was diagnosed with it in the year:  Fibro (1998) & Depression (1993)
3. But I had symptoms since:  1993
4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is:  Adjusting to the guilt of letting my family & friends down by not being able to always participate in “life”
5. Most people assume:  I am fine because I LOOK fine or because I am out then I MUST be having a good day
6. The hardest part about mornings are:  Getting down the steps
7. My favorite medical TV show is:  Mystery Diagnosis
8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is:  My TENS unit
9. The hardest part about nights are:  Falling asleep
10. Each day I take __ pills & vitamins. (No comments, please):  About 10
11. Regarding alternative treatments I:  If it works for you that is wonderful but that doesn’t mean it will work for me
12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose:  WOW – I HAVE to choose one?  I suppose an invisible one so that no attention would be drawn to me
13. Regarding working and career:  Out of the question and I have accepted that – I wish others would
14. People would be surprised to know:  exactly how much pain I am actually in every day
15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been:  Not being able to do whatever whenever with whoever
16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was:  Homeschool
17. The commercials about my illness:  Make me happy that the word is getting out
18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is:  Going out in the evenings with family and friends
19. It was really hard to have to give up:  Because that’s when people are available to interact with
20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is:  Knitting
21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would:  Shop all day at the mall and eat lunch with friends and not think about my pain or fatigue even once
22. My illness has taught me:  To take one day at a time and appreciate the good days more
23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is:  How are you feeling?  Like my answer is gonna be any different
24. But I love it when people:  Do NOT make me feel guilty for having to change plans at the last minute
25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is:  Jeremiah 29:11 – He has a plan that is not meant to harm me but to bless me.
26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them:  Don’t try to be brave and push through because it will just make it all worse
27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is:  How exhausting it is
28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was:  Bring my family a meal
29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because:  It’s important to shine a light on those of us who suffer in spite of looking “normal”
30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel:  Like you really care about me and what I deal with

One thought on “I Have An Invisible Illness

Leave a Reply

