Zucchini Bread of Tasty Tuesday (Ok, so it's Wednesday – whatever)

When Ron and I went to the Nashville Farmer’s Market last Friday we got all sorts of incredibly yummy veggies and fruits.  All of the “yummies” sold there come from local growers.  And apparently Tennessee has some amazing dirt because all of it tastes better then I ever imagined.  I have never been one to eat vegetables.  But just walking thru the outdoor market, smelling the freshness and seeing the bright beautiful colors all around honestly made me want to become a vegetarian.  Of course that is just crazy talk but that’s also how amazing it all looked and smelled.  We decided right then and there to make a pledge of healthy eating for our family.  Take a look at these pictures and I think you will know what I mean.

Perhaps a deliciously sweet yellow tomato

 

Tomato anyone?
Or perhaps some green beans or purple…uh…….things….
Maybe you would prefer some white……………uhhhhhhhhhhhhhh………stuff

I have a few more pictures to share but my computer is being cantakerous.  So, they will have to come later.  Needless to say it was all amazing!  We got some lovely zucchini that I am gonna use tomorrow to make this delish zucchini bread.  Let me know if you try it and what you think.  I think you will enjoy it.  I haven’t had anyone try it yet who didn’t like it.  So enjoy!

Zucchini Bread

3 eggs (preferably without salmonella if you can find them – HA)

2 cups of sugar

1 cup of oil (I didn’t say this was all healthy…)

3 teaspoons of vanilla

2 cups peeled and grated zucchini

3 cups flour

1 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 1/2 teaspoons nutmeg

1 cups of nuts (optional)

1.  Beat eggs till foamy

2.  Add sugar, oil, vanilla, zucchini.  Mix well and set aside

3.  Combine flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon & nutmeg

4.  Add the flour mixture to the egg mixture.  Stir well.  Add nuts if you want them (I don’t like them – bleck bleck)

5.  Pour into greased loaf pans (you can probably get 2 loaves out of this recipe – one for you and one for the freezer or a neighbor)

6.  Bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees.

Tasty tasty tasty!  Be sure to let me know if you give it a shot.  I think you will like it.  It’s so moist.  I can almost taste it now.  I’ll let you know tomorrow just how yummy it is.  Happy baking!

5 thoughts on “Zucchini Bread of Tasty Tuesday (Ok, so it's Wednesday – whatever)

  1. You can’t go past a trip to the markets for great fresh produce. I have had zucchini slice before but never zucchini bread. Sounds scrumptious! Thanks for Rewinding this weekend x

Leave a Reply

