My Thursday (or Saturday) Thirteen Favorite Children's Books

Last week my Thursday Thirteen was a list of my favorite fiction/non-fiction books.  So I thought it would be fun to also do a list of my favorite children’s books.  My mom is a career elementary school librarian.  She started working as the librarian of my elementary school when I was in first grade (I think it was first grade.  She will tell me if I’m wrong.  😉 ).  When I was growing up I saw my grandmother with a book in her hands every day I was with her.  And now I am married to a publisher.  Books have surrounded me my entire life.  Reading is a wonderful hobby to list on your hobbies resume.   I love books.  I feel at peace just standing in a bookstore or in a library.  Books are comforting and adventurous.  They take you to places you may never go on your own.  They help you experience things you might never experience.  They give you the information you need to improve your life.  They help you to see results of actions in the characters you are reading about.  So you get a glimpse at the outcome of certain actions you may be considering doing.  In all, the world opens up to you when you open up a book.  Some of my greatest memories of adventure as a child included a book.  Here are 13 of the ones that taught me life lessons, took me on amazing trips and introduced me to some wonderful friends when I was growing up.

1.  Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst

2.  Amelia Bedelia Series by Peggy Parish

3.  The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner

4.  The Little Engine That Could by Watty Piper

5.  Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Suess

6.  Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

7.  Little House on the Praire Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder

8.  Tales of A Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume

9.  Where The Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein

10.  How To Eat Fried Worms by Thomas Rockwell

11.  The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

12.  The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams

13.  Love You Forever by Robert N. Munsch

Happy Reading!!!!!

2 thoughts on “My Thursday (or Saturday) Thirteen Favorite Children's Books

  1. As a homeschooling family and a person who studied education in college (music education, but I still had to take the education classes) the list of your 13 favorite children’s books was near and dear to my heart. We have many of these books in our personal library for our girls.
    May I also suggest checking out Lamplighter Publishing (http://www.lamplighterpublishing.com/) as a source for character-building literature from a Biblical based view. We were turned onto Lamplighter at a Florida Parent Educator’s conference several years ago. I love to just look at their display of classic bound books, it looks like an old private-collection library that you would invision in your mind.

Leave a Reply

