Backing Away from the Give Away

In making the rounds looking for blog I want to follow and add to my blogroll I’m noticing a new blogging trend.  When I was blogging before most of the blogs I read were homeschool friends.  So the focus then was on homeschooling.  I am no longer homeschooling and have returned to regular blogging myself.  I took a break and focused on Facebook for about a year or so.  Now that I have returned I am enjoying reading and writing about matters that are important to me.  In exploring new blogs I am seeing a lot of giveaways.  I would say probably 75% of the blogs I visit to check out are blogs that are focusing on giving something away.  Now don’t get me wrong – I don’t mind getting something for free.  We all want something for nothing – seriously.  However, the reason I visit and read a blog I am looking for ways that I can gain new information on my health, parenting, improving my relationship with my husband and/or God.  I also enjoy seeing people’s pictures of things going on in their lives or pictures that show of God’s glorious creation.  Basically I want to see/read something that is gonna make a difference to me as a person.  If I want a coupon for laundry detergent I will look in the Sunday paper.  Tell us something about yourself – something about a battle you are living – tell us about your family.  Don’t try to bribe me to visit your blog with giveaways or coupons.  Chances are it’s not gonna work.  I guess I’m just a personable kind of person.  Your giveaway blog is anything BUT personable.  That’s why you won’t find any giveaways here on my blog.  You will just find helpful entries on how to make your life easier – as boring as that may be.

Leave a Reply

