RFA Round One Complete

Well, I want to thank all of you who prayed for me today.  I received nerve ablation (burning) on the right side of my neck at C2, C3, C4, C5 and C6.  C2 was by far the most painful.  The farther to the top of the spine you go the tougher the skin is.  While my amazing pain management doctor, Dr. John Nwofia, did a great job of numbing the entire area from top all the way to the nerve the pressure was very uncomfortable.  He was wonderful to make sure I told him if I felt any pain.  When he got to C3 I could feel him hit the nerve and my body twitched.  He stopped and used more lidocaine (numbing medicine).  We waited a minute before continuing.  C3 was completed without further pain.  When we got to C2 I nearly jumped off the table. I am a “JUST DO IT QUICK AND GET IT OVER WITH” kind of girl which he has heard from me a number of times.  This time he said “No, I know this is painful.  Don’t try to tough it out like you always do.  Let me take care of this.”  He had to stop 3 times to add more lidocaine. But eventually we had success. At one point on C2 my ring finger and pinky on my right hand went numb.  I told him.  he adjusted something or other and it went back to normal.  Isn’t the body amazing?  God sure knew what He was doing when He created us!

The entire right side of my head, neck and face were numb after the procedure.  I am still a bit numb.  And I am in an extreme amount of pain.  But the pain seems to be from the points he had to mess with.  I suspect in a couple of days I will be able to feel a big difference – once I’m able to move the right side of my head of course.

Since getting home I have laid down and am alternating ice and heat and down muscle relaxers.  The procedure caused pretty intense muscle spasms in my upper back and right trapezius muscle.  The muscle relaxer seems to be working.

Thank all of you for your prayers and support.  I will keep you posted on the results of part one of this procedure.  I go back in two weeks for part two – the left side.  YOu can’t do both sides at the same time.  And I can completely understand why at this point.  I am anxious to see what this does for my headaches and upper back pain.

Stay tuned!  To be continued…..

6 thoughts on “RFA Round One Complete

  1. Hello, i will be undergoing RFA for C2, C3, C4, C5 & C6 (right side only) and i was wondering if it helped you with your headaches. Also, did the numbness continue for long in your head, face? neck? i’m a little worried about having a numb face. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

