Tasty Tuesday – Potato and Comte Casserole

If there is anything I am NOT it is a cook.  I actually greatly dislike cooking.  Thankfully I married a man who loves to create different dishes.  He is very creative.  So it all works out just fine for us.  However, occasionally I come up on a recipe I would like try.  I have a handful of things that I can cook, enjoy cooking and always get compliments on.  The recipe I am posting for today’s Tasty Tuesday entry is one I want to try for Thanksgiving.  I am intending to try it out in the next few days in order to make sure it works right.

What is especially funny is that I signed up online for a cooking club.  HAHAHAHA  I get a subscription to the Cooking Club magazine as one of the benefits of my membership.  I came across this recipe in the current issue of the magazine.  As I thumbed through it I found two recipes that I want to try for Thanksgiving dinner.  I am sharing the casserole this week.  Next week I will share the dessert recipe for Tasty Tuesday.  Ok – so enough of the chit chat – on with the yummy stuff!

This recipe called for Comte cheese – which I had never heard of.  So I paid a visit to Whole Foods this week and found some.

Potato and Comte Casserole

Makes 6 servings

1 cup coarsely shredded Comte cheese

3 Tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 lb. russet potatoes, peeled, sliced, patted dry

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream

1.  Heat oven to 350. Generously butter 11×7 inch glass or ceramic baking dish.

2.  With fork, toss cheese and flour in small bowl until blended.

3.  Arrange one-third of the potatoes in dish; sprinkle with one-third of the salt pepper and nutmeg.  Top with one-third of the cheese mixture.  Repeat twice.  Pour cream over top.

4.  Bake 55-60 minutes or until golden brown and potatoes are tender.

There is also quite an extensive list of various things you can do with Comte cheese.  I’m looking forward to trying it and seeing what it tastes like.  If you try this let me know what you think.  When I get around to making it I will post some pics.  Also consider stopping by A Beautiful Mess – the host blog for Tasty Tuesday and signing up to participate.

Happy cooking!!!  HA – that sounds funny coming from me.

Leave a Reply

