Spiders Are More Creative Than I Am

Today’s post for the Halloween Giveaway over at the SITS Girls blog is to post about a Halloween craft you have created.  Ok, honestly, there are a number of things that are wrong with this for me.  Number one – we don’t really “celebrate” Halloween – not because we are on the Halloween-is-the-devil’s-holiday bandwagon because that is just ridiculous in my head.  

That brings us to number two – the reason we don’t “celebrate” Halloween is because we are just too lazy to decorate for it.  There I’ve said it.  I suspect there are a lot of people out there who are just like me.  If we do ever DECORATE it will consist of buying a pumpkin and sitting it (uncarved of course) on the front porch.   Oooooooooo – spooky, huh?

Finally reason number three is quite simple and especially sad actually.  I am the least creative person God ever created.  If you put every necessary item on a table in front of me to create an amazing magazine worthy decorated house all I would see is a table full of junk.  Some people would look at it and see all these amazing finished projects and all I see is stuff.  I don’t have a trained eye for beautifully decorated homes or creatively designed Halloween costumes.  I spent years wishing and trying to fake it.  But it just doesn’t work.  I have embraced my pitiful ability to decorate and create.

So, imagine my anxiety when I read what today’s entry was supposed to be about.  At this point in time – the actual DAY of Halloween – there is not a single pumpkin, piece of hay or set of vampire teeth anywhere on my property.  And any spooky looking spider web was made by an actual spider.  Shoot – even spiders are more creative than I am.

So, how do I complete the challenge for today’s entry?  I looked through my pictures and found one of a pumpkin that we carved.  Sadly I had to go all the way back to 1994.  I’m sure that that pumpkin was created because our children were babies and totally a result of guilt.  And here is the pumpkin that guilt created.

And there you have it.  Just to prove my point on how uncreative I am please look closely at the RED taper candle inside.  SIGH!!!!!!!

But at any rate it was enough to get my entry posted for the contest today.  I better win that camera after exposing my pathetic crafting talents to the world.  Interestingly enough taking pictures is a creative talent that I’m actually not too bad at – shared picture excluded.  Surely I can get credit for my transparency and courage at exposing my laziness and lack of creativity.  I think that should earn me more than one entry.  From my fingertips to the SITS Girls ears.

4 thoughts on “Spiders Are More Creative Than I Am

  1. I put up a little bit of “fall” decorations…I call it “fall” decor over Halloween decorations because that way I don’t have to put it away until Christmas stuff set out… hmmm..now that I think about it.. maybe I should call my Christmas decor..”winter” decor..then I don’t have to pack it up til spring!… ha!..I’m on to something!

  2. This post sounds so much like me! I went all out and put a fall center piece (premade) on my table this year, but I just don’t have the energy or resources to do a lot. A couple of years ago, the only reason we had a Christmas tree was because my daughter did it all (and she was only 12!!).

  3. Well as you and I always say “we are so related”. I feel the same way you do with creativity!! Nine times out of 10, my mind is blank when it comes to that lol

Leave a Reply

