NabloPoMo – Who? What? When? Where? Why? Huh?

Today is day one of the NaBloPoMo challenge for November.  I can hear your question already?  What on earth is NaBloPoMo?  It stands for National (Na) Blog (Blo) Posting (Po) Month (Mo).  Easy, huh?  The challenge is to post something every day for a month.  I have attempted this challenge several months in the past but it has just never happened.  This month I am determined to make it happen.  I am doing it for a number of different reasons.

Number one – to prove to myself that I can take on a challenge and complete it.  I often frustrate myself because I say I am going to do something but don’t always follow through for various reasons  – health, boredom, laziness, busyness…you get the idea.  However this time I am determined to prove to myself that I AM capable of setting a goal and reaching it.

Number two – to increase my readership.  I am crazy about writing.  Blogging has increased my desire to use this talent that God has given me.  I haven’t always used it as I should.  I want to development the skill and share what I have to say – whether it is about medical matters or personal matters – to be obedient to what God has blessed me with.

And Number three is a selfish reason but I’m gonna tell you anyway.  I want some of those cute blog award buttons to post on my blog.  I am selfish and have never tried to hide that.  But I come across so many adorable blogs that are well written and beautifully created.  I am trying to make mine the same.  I want to compete with those blogs.  I don’t want them to show off so much as I just want them to encourage myself in my writing.  WOW – I feel so shallow admitting that to you.  But it’s the truth.  Think what you want of me.  I’m being honest.

That brings us to Number four – I want to use this opportunity to hone my blogging, coding and writing skills.  I am basically teaching myself how to work with the WordPress platform.  It is not easy.  There are a lot of things I see on other people’s WP blogs that I would like to do with mine but can’t figure out how to do.  So, I know that working with it every day, visiting other people’s WP blogs and finding things I want to add to mine is the best way to learn try to add them to mine.

And finally Number five – I want to write to bring awareness to the physical and mental challenges that I battle every day – Fibromyalgia and Depression. I have found blogging to be a great tool to increasing the knowledge of my ailments God has given me to live with in my life.  The more research I do for my entries here the more I learn for myself and the more I am able to help others.

So, there you have it – the honest to goodness reasons why I want to participate in the month of November for NaBloPoMo.  The good, the bad, the selfish and the ugly lowdown on my motivation for writing this month.   I hope you will come back.

NaBloPoMo Day One – Check!

6 thoughts on “NabloPoMo – Who? What? When? Where? Why? Huh?

  1. Thank you Pam! This is the 3rd year in a row that I said I was going to participate in the National Novel Writing but it just seemed too daunting for me. I’m joining the NaBloPoMo though and I think it’s gonna be fun!

Leave a Reply

