Call Me Scrooge

Ok – let me start off by saying that I’m not one of those people who whine about how Christmas has gotten too commercialized.  I don’t think there is anything wrong with Santa Claus.  There is nothing wrong with decorating your yard with a zillion lights that can be seen from space.  I don’t mind helping stores stay in business by giving them my money – shoot, it’s the only time of the year I can spend freely without assuring a lecture about spending money.  I love buying my kids gifts.  They are easy to shop for.  I love buying my husband exactly what he wants.  I love looking for that unique gift for my parents and trying to guess if they will keep it or exchange it.  (Exchanging it doesn’t bother me in the least.  I usually try to stretch them when I buy them gifts.  But if they don’t want to stretch as far as I try to get them to then I am fine with that.  Once I buy the gift and give it to them it is theirs to do with as they wish.)

What I DO mind is having to wrap it all!!!!  Once the shopping is over then I am done.  I have paid my kids and their friends to wrap Christmas presents for me before.  Ok – I did it just last year.  I remember one year my dad went out the day before (or it may have even been on the actual day) we opened presents and bought mom a gift, came home and sat it directly under the tree – brown store bag and all. I think he was on to something.  Sitting in the floor, trying to cut a straight line, wasting paper because you cut it too small, running out of tape in the middle of a pile of gifts, having one end turn up farther than the other end, forgetting what you wrapped and who it was for by the time you’re done….what’s fun about all of that?  It just makes me crazy and it makes my back hurt.

So call me Scrooge if you want to.  It won’t bother me.  As a matter of fact it wouldn’t bother me if all of the presents under our tree were still in their original store bags this year.  Either that or my kids will keep getting richer from me paying them to do the wrapping.  Just as long as I don’t have to do it!

2 thoughts on “Call Me Scrooge

  1. I hear ya! I like to wrap gifts. Just not a million at a time, which is what I end up doing until all hours of the morning both Dec 23 & 24. It’s my fault, I know.

Leave a Reply

