Friends, This is My Family

image

This is me with my cousins.  There are just four of us.  From left to right we have John & Missi (brother and sister), Derick and Me (each are only children).  I am the oldest, then Derick (who was like a brother to me growing up).  Then came Missi and John is the baby.

image

These are all of our children.  Mine and Derick’s children are in the back standing up.  All of the little ones belong to Missi and her husband Todd and John and his wife Amanda.  It’s hard to believe just the four of us produced 11 children.

image

This is almost the whole gang.  Todd (Missi’s husband) and Ron are taking the pictures.  They are in a later picture that Todd had set up his timer for.  Not sure I will get a copy of that one.  So this one will have to do. And my Mom wasn’t feeling well and wasn’t able to go today.  So, she is missing from this one as well.

image

Me and my Daddy!  Doesn’t he look great?  Doesn’t look like he spent a year fighting his health and cancer does he?

image

These are the three who started the whole thing.  My dad with his two sisters – Barb on the left and Joan on the right.  They are wonderful together!  Words can’t begin to describe how much I love them.

image

This is me and my “little” cousin Derick.  We got each other in equal amounts of trouble with Mamaw and Papaw growing up.  But I was the first grandchild so I was obviously the better child………..I wouldn’t take a million dollars for him.

image

These are the two babies of the family.  When Lauren and Logan (Derick’s daughter) were born they were just 6 weeks apart.  The baby on the left is Ava.  The baby on the right is Laney.  They are just 3 weeks apart.  Ava is Missi’s youngest.  Laney is Derick’s granddaughter.  So, she is in a category all her own.

image

This is Laney being positively adorable!!!!!!  She does it well!

image

image

Those two pictures are my dad and Lauren with Ava.  She has beautiful blue eyes like Lauren.  She is just as sweet as pie.

The picture below is the house all of us used to spend these holidays in.  This is where my grandparents lived.  The window to the left of the front door was the blue room (mine) and the bedroom on the corner next to it was the red room (Derick’s room).  It still looks the same as the day my grandmother went into the hospital and didn’t come back to it.  I used to not be able to drive by it when I would go home.  Today is the first time in 8 1/2 years I have been able to stop to take a picture.  Those walls hold many memories of laughter and love.  Memories that now live in my heart.

image

4 thoughts on “Friends, This is My Family

  1. Pam, your dad does look great! Thanks for sharing your memories of childhood with us. I have similar holiday memories with my cousins as we would gather at Grandma’s house. What a heritage and legacy our ancestors have left us to follow. Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

