That’s Not Santa! That’s Paul Baby!

After spending the Thanksgiving holiday in Ohio with my amazing family and talking about holidays past I thought the Perfect Moment Monday would have to come from a memory from one of those discussions.

If anyone reading this still believes in Santa Claus you might want to stop now and call your psychiatrist.  But anyway this is gonna give away a thing or two.  However, if you still believe in Santa Claus you have much bigger problems than I can help you with.

At any rate, my memory happened when I was about 10 and my cousins Derick was about 6.  I’m not really sure how far apart we are in age.  But he still believed in Santa and I didn’t.  Just so you get a visual of who I’m talking about here he is now.

Ok – that gives you an idea of who I’m talking about.  When we were little our family would get together on Christmas Eve to have our family celebration.  And back in those days one of our family members would dress up as Santa Claus and come in to deliver presents.  It’s some of my sweetest holiday memories.  My Aunt (Derick’s mom) would store the Santa suit all year and at some point they would discuss who was going to play Santa.  They played it up big too.  We would all listen for the reindeer’s hooves on the roof and finally Santa would knock on the front door.  We would all be sitting in the living room waiting for him/her to arrive.  They all made a big deal about hearing him coming.  He/She would come in with a big bag of presents and sit with each of us kids – for a long time it was just me and Derick.  We would sit with him/her and tell them all good we have been.  Sometimes Derick’s stepfather, Paul,  would play Santa.  So anyway, this particular Christmas Eve I remember (and that we talked about this week) there was the usual hoopla about hearing Santa, knocking on the door, the big entrance.  And as soon as he came in the door Derick hollers out “That’s not Santa!  That’s Paul Baby!”  Everyone lost it and the secret was out.  HAHAHAHA  Santa still came every year.  But until my younger cousins came along there was no mystery because Derick had figured it out.

Such sweet memories!  We talked this week about reviving Santa because now my two youngest cousins have little ones.  I’m not sure I would want to play Santa though.  I would bust out laughing and giggling too much.  Pretty sure that would give it away.  And I’m NOT gonna be the Paul Baby that ruins Santa for all of them.

5 thoughts on “That’s Not Santa! That’s Paul Baby!

  1. In our household, Santa leaves presents for all those who believe. My 24 year old step-son and his wife “believe” so Santa always drops something off at our house for them. They will tell anyone who asks them that as well. 🙂

  2. How cool that your family went to all that trouble (reindeer hooves!) to bring you some magic in your childhood!

    A friend once dressed up as Santa for our kids, then ages 2 and 4. Both were terrorized, but we get a good laugh about it now.

  3. What an incredibly cool memory. My parents use to set a “flour trap” that Santa would end up stepping in and it would cause him to leave boot prints across the floor.

    • What a great idea! I’m sure if anyone in my family had thought of that they would have added that to the magic! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to share!

      Pam

Leave a Reply

