I Did It! I Did it! I Did It!

WOW!!!!  I did it!!!  I can’t believe it!  But it’s true!  I set a goal – I fought the odds – I completed it!  That doesn’t always happen for me.  But this time it did!  Kudos for me!  I have patted myself on the bag, high-fived myself and looked in the mirror and given myself a thumbs up!  I can’t believe it!  What a feeling!  When I first told myself I could do this I really wasn’t too sure.  But this proves I can set a goal and reach it! WOOOOO HOOOOO!

I’m sure you’re asking yourself what on earth I’m talking about.  Well, I think I will tell you.  The end of October I got an email from NABLOPOMO – National Blog Posting Month – explaining the theme for November.  What is nablopomo you ask.  It is a blogging challenge each month.  Usually there is a theme you have to follow and you have to post an entry every single day of the month.  I’ve tried participating before. But it’s really hard for me to write about in a theme method for 30/31 days straight.  How was November different?  There was no theme!  Perfect for me!  I can write about nothing – it’s my specialty.  For those who complete the challenge of posting every single day for the month there is a chance of winning a prize. Now I didn’t participate really to win any of the posted prizes because I NEVER win ANYTHING!  I gave up hoping to win anything a long time ago.  In this case, the prize for me is the pride in knowing that I set a goal for myself and completed it!  YAY ME!!!!!

There are a few reasons this is such a huge accomplishment for me:

1.  I very rarely reach a goal that I have set for myself.  Isn’t that pathetic?  I always get lazy or let other things get in the way.  I lose interest in the commitment to reach the goal.  Don’t you love when someone is honest about their laziness?  Isn’t it just so attractive?  HA – whatever!

2.  The challenge was to post an entry EVERY SINGLE DAY OF THE MONTH!  This was a challenge in and of itself because 7 days of the month I was out of the country.  And an additional 7 days of the month we were on a trip of some kind. So, half of the month I was in a position where I may not actually have access to a computer and/or my cell phone had no signal because of my location.

3.  The final situation stacked against me was that I have been in a Fibromyalgia flare up for the past 5 months.  If you have been reading my blog (and I hope you have) or know anything about fibromyalgia and/or the flare ups that can hit you if you have the disease then you can probably guess the challenge I faced yourself.  When you are in a flare up you don’t want to do ANYTHING.  You certainly don’t feel like writing anything.  But I pressed on and did it anyway.

So you can see why I am proud of myself.  When you live a life where you have to break promises or fail to meet commitments and expectations because of your health on a regular basis any goal that you set and meet is something to be excited about.  That is my prize.  There is a list of 14 actual prizes I have a chance of winning.  However, my prize is the pride I feel at setting and meeting a goal!  While it would feel amazing to actually win a physical prize from the nablopomo list of prizes.  I am more than happy with the prize I earned myself – that of proving to myself that I can do something with a little determination and clever planning.

So – I WIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  YAY ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4 thoughts on “I Did It! I Did it! I Did It!

  1. Hi, I found you on NaBloPoMo at WordPress and I’m a Newbie at this goal.

    Congratulations on this accomplishment! I love your enthusiasm to finish, especially in the face of Fibromyalgia, which I know to be debilitating.

    I wish you well and good health.

    ~Lael

Leave a Reply

