My Christmas Secret

Ok – can I be honest?  (Aren’t you proud that I asked first?  Not that it really matters because I’m always gonna be honest and give my opinions.) I am a H-O-R-R-I-B-L-E gift giver.  I never have a clue what to get someone unless they flat out tell me.  I mean, it’s like I’m in a cave and someone has turned out the lights. I can’t see the hand in front of my face.  You can’t see ANYTHING…NOTHING…NADA….ZIP….ZILCH… Yeah, that’s how it is when it’s time to buy someone a Christmas present.  I can’t see ANYTHING…NOTHING…NADA….ZIP….ZILCH…

The way it works around here is I ask one of the kids or Ron what they want, they tell me and that’s what they get.  The words “I don’t know” or “surprise me” are not acceptable because the surprise will most likely be that they have nothing under the tree.  SURPRISE!!!!!!  Ron started this thing about 3 years ago called “thoughtful gifts”.  It is a gift we buy for one another that shows some serious thoughtfulness.  It’s supposed to be something that reaches out to you in the store and says “this is perfect for Michael”.  For example, last year Lauren got me this beautiful display plate with a display stand that says “Mother, you’re a blessing and…I happen to think you were one of God’s best ideas”.  Are you kidding me?  I have a hard enough time buying something that is actually on the person’s list.  How am I supposed to come up with a thoughtful gift.  Ron and the kids get so excited about these.  They love giving thought into them and making them personal just for the one they are buying it for.  Shopping for the thoughtful gifts are so hard for me.  I moan and groan at having to shop for them – which I’m sure makes me the mother of the year.

So this year I came up with a great idea!  I decided that each one of us should make an Amazon Wishlist.  Then there is no walking around the store aimlessly and ending up with lame gifts.  I thought this was brilliant for a couple of different reasons. Above all else it is a list of items the person has chosen themselves so there is no guessing involved.  Then it is easy because I can shop at home on the computer and don’t have to use any of my preciously rare energy walking around the mall.  It’s an excellent way to shop for those of us with Fibro or some other illness where energy is rare and pain is abundant.

Now the fun begins – nagging each one of them to actually sit down long enough to make the list.  I made mine.  Ron made his.  Lauren thought it was dumb.  Michael will no doubt wait until Christmas Eve to make his.  That would then make him the easiest one for me to shop for!  Maybe I like his idea the best.

So there is my Christmas secret. And there is my Christmas present buying cheating idea.  If you have the same pathetic Christmas shopping disorder that I do then you have my permission to steal my idea.  I think it’s gonna work beautifully.  And if it doesn’t, then I won’t have any present to wrap – which is another problem I have as you recall if you read my entry from the other day.

Is it December 26th yet?  I could use some stress relief!

8 thoughts on “My Christmas Secret

  1. I let my kids do their own shopping this year. They are 14-1/2, 18 and almost 20 and I have NO idea what to get them anymore! So, I gave them their money and told them to shop and then it has to go under the tree and they aren’t allowed to touch it until Christmas. This is killing my boys because they REALLY want their stuff NOW:) I think your amazon idea is great! I should have thought of that! Maybe next year 🙂

    • I’ll let you know how it works! the success lies in my ability to get them to do what I want them to do. I’m not always successful in that venture.

  2. I shop all year long – It is especially nice when I can go to the mall or a store with my grands and they point out something they like. That gives me an idea of what to get them and I can watch for it on sale. Scored some great deals on vacation in Florida. The men are the hardest – sometimes we do a wish list and that is nice for them. Sometimes I use one of their friends to help me out with ideas I have to get good deals so it works best for me to shop all year long.

    • Laura, I always have intentions to shop throughout the year. But it never works out that way for a few reasons: 1.) Christmas bonus doesn’t come until Thanksgiving 2.) I forget where I put what I have bought 3.) what I buy doesn’t really excite me anymore by the time Christmas rolls around.

  3. My family almost ALL made amazon wishlists this year! I started it with Wishpot last year but the Amazon one is sooo much easier! 🙂
    Great ideas! Hope it works out for you!

  4. I am SO with you on this. My Dad believes that we should give him something “from the heart” and will never tell us what wants. So frustrating since he doesn’t have any hobbies! I think everyone should be required to make wishlists. That way the giver and receiver both end up happy!

Leave a Reply

