Gifts That Can’t Be Wrapped In A Box

I am finally back to my computer – which means I am finally back to blogging on a normal basis.  I have sooooo missed it.  I have missed all of you.  I hope you are still coming around.  I am blessed by your comments and the connection I feel with each of you.  I pray all of you had as blessed a Christmas as we did.  Santa found me here and then he found me in Florida too.  He brought me all kinds of goodies.  

I think some of the greatest blessings I received for Christmas this year really are not actually things at all.  I had a wonderful time of bonding with my family.  The kids got along so well.  We all shared laughs and made terrific memories together.  We had a very nice visit with Ron’s Dad and step-mom in Tallahassee.  Rose, his step-mom, Lauren and I went to the mall one day and we shopped and had lunch like we used to do when we lived there in the mid-90s.  It was so nice to relive “the old days”.  Rose and I always have such wonderful conversations.  We bond so well.  When we get together it’s like we’ve never been apart.  We all watched movies, shopped, went out to eat and just enjoyed being together for the short time we had.  They are coming to work a site in Cookeville in the summer.  I’m looking forward to having them close by.  I look forward to having more conversations and more bonding.

Then we went to Pensacola to spend time with Ron’s mom and step-dad.  When we walked in half of the living room was filled with presents.  If anyone likes to “do” Christmas it is Grandma.  I’ve never seen anyone who loves to give more than her.  But more then the presents she loves to give of herself.  She loves and she loves and she loves – she accepts people with more kindness than anyone I know.  I don’t think there is anyone she loves more than her grandkids.  She only has two of them.  But I never wonder if she loves one more than the other or if her love is ever conditional.  She was born to be a grandma.  Her heart is the size of Texas.  She also has fibromyalgia and I’m not sure how she keeps going like she does.  But she goes until she drops.  She is a wonderful cook.  The food she cooks could be her Christmas present alone.  she could put a big red bow on each dish and we would all be blessed!

Christmas at Grandma's House

Not only were we blessed with time with family.  But God blessed me with some amazing artwork in the sky.  I posted one picture the other day of the sunset.  Here are a few more shots of the sky as well as some of the pier behind their house and of the beautiful water of the Escambia Bay.

 

So Beautiful!

Lauren chillin' on the pier

Michael chillin' on the pier

The water was slick as glass

So, as you can see my greatest gifts this Christmas had nothing to do with anything that could be wrapped in a box and placed under a tree.  The greatest gifts I received was time with family and the beauty of God’s creation.  Isn’t that what it should be about anyway?

2 thoughts on “Gifts That Can’t Be Wrapped In A Box

Leave a Reply

