Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans….Power of One Challenge

I am bound and determined to make 2011 a year of healthy living!!!  Notice I didn’t say the year I want to lose 100 pounds.  I want to be healthier.  I want to eat healthier.  I want to feel healthier.  I want to be a healthy example to my kids!  I’m tired of feeling like the slob mom on the soccer field.  I’m tired of being the mom who goes through the drive thru of the closest fast food den and loading up on useless unhealthy calories.  I’m tired of making my headaches and my fibro worse with carbs and sugar.  I’m tired of being tired!  I want to be full of energy!  I want to leave my pain and fatigue in the dust.  I want ME to win instead of the fibro winning.

I did it last year!  I KNOW it can be done.  Before then I wasn’t so sure I could do it.  Now I know I can.  This year of stress is now behind me.  My old habits returned but I’m ready for them to disappear for good.  I have joined two communities online to help me reach my goals.  I’m in the process of figuring them out.  Yesterday I joined Weight Watchers Online.  I have done WW before and gone to the meetings before.  I spend most of my days online and am so busy going here there and everywhere with/for the kids that I decided this time the online program would work best for me.  I haven’t got it all figured out yet. But I’m working on it.  I also joined the Sisterhood of The Shrinking Jeans.  A twitter friend, Jamee at A New Kind of Normal, introduced the site to me (she has the prettiest black background on her blog – check it out).  It’s an awesome community with challenges and support galore.  The site provides challenges each week.  There are prizes you can win.

This week’s challenge is to blog my healthy living goals for the new year.  I think I pretty much did that in the first paragraph.  But repetition is good.  So, to put it simply – my goal for 2011 has nothing to do with numbers on the scale.  My goal for 2011 is to make healthy choices with food and exercise so that I can feel good again!  Any weight I lose according to the scale will simply be a bonus.  I just want to overcome my fibro symptoms and live again!  It’s that simple.  There you have it!

If you want to make changes in your life that lead to a healthier you then come along for the ride.  It’s gonna mean work and change!  I used to be afraid of both.  But I’m not afraid anymore!  I’ve had a taste of the healthy life (in 2009) and I liked it!  I’m ready for a healthy dose of it again!  Let’s do this together!

On your mark…..get so……GO!!!!!!

5 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans….Power of One Challenge

  1. Love your goals and love your attitude about numbers on the scale. I took a break last year and did a no scale challenge of my own and it brought a new perspective to my wieght loss. I am so glad you joined this challenge and Jamee is just awesome I heart her!!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Trish! I agree that working on living a healthier life give you a new perspective on weight loss. I’ve found that focusing on my health and not letting the scale control me.

  2. Good for you to make such great goals! I have joined the Sisterhood and the challenge also! Here is to a New Year and a whole bunch of healthier and I will add happier gals!

Leave a Reply

