The Other Side Looks Beautiful From Here

Today is the last day of 2010.  The only thing I have to say about that is “Good Riddance!”.  Whew!  I can’t explain just how glad I am this year is ending. I am VERY ready for a fresh start.  As I look back on the year most of what I see is negative events, emotions and results.  So for the last week I have been trying to decide what I have learned from all of the negative events that occurred in the year.  I know I posted a few days ago 10 Things I Learned In 2010.  But on this, the last day of the year, I wanted to focus on the biggest lesson learned.  I plan to use the lesson to shape my thoughts and attitudes in the upcoming year.

From cancer to marital issues to my own physical battles the stress has been overwhelming.  This has been the worst and most stressful year of my 43 years of life.  If it could go wrong it did!  There were many times that I wasn’t sure I could make it to bedtime.  On bad days, that is my goal – just to make it to bedtime.  There were many days that I didn’t WANT to make it to bedtime.  Many days I wanted to just give up on life or run away and never come back.  Most days I felt completely out of control and completely defeated.

What I have learned through it all is that God is in control.  The hardest thing to do is to not worry and just give it all to Him.  It’s easy to get down on your knees and say the words “God I give it all to you” but it’s hard to get back up and walk away without picking all those burdens back up, slinging them over your shoulder and taking them with you.  Worry does absolutely nothing but make everything worse.  It doesn’t make you feel better and it doesn’t make the situation any better.  So worrying and lugging around those burdens are completely useless activities.  God has it all under control.  He knows exactly what is going on in our lives – good and bad.  And He certainly doesn’t need any help from us to resolve the situations.  That’s not to say that He doesn’t expect us to do our part of maintaining our relationship with Him and with those around us.  But He is perfectly capable of dealing with what is going on in our lives.

This is where my life verse comes in.  I have clung to the passage many times in the last 365+ days.  It comforts me and assures me that He knows what’s going on and that He has it all under control.  Here is the passage from The Message version:

Jeremiah 29:10-14 – “…I’ll show up and take care of you as I promised and bring you back home.  I know what I’m doing.  I have it all planned out – plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for. When you call on me, when you come and pray to me, I’ll listen. When you come looking for me, you’ll find me.  Yes, when you get serious about finding me and want it more than anything else, I’ll make sure you won’t be disappointed.  I’ll turn things around for you….You can count on it.”

So, what I have learned above all other lessons is that God is in control and He doesn’t need my help. He knows how things will turn out.  He’s got a plan.  He’s not going to abandon us.  He wants to carry us through our struggles and place us safely on the other side.  That is what He has done for me and my family this year.  2011 is “the other side” and it is looking beautiful from here.

8 thoughts on “The Other Side Looks Beautiful From Here

  1. I think 2010 has been a hard year for so many of my friends too. Your verse from Jeremiah is one of my favorites!

    I’m praying 2011 is full of blessings for you and your family!
    xoxo

    • Thank you, Suzy! One good thing – it can only go up from here. 😉

      Let me know what Saturday would work for you for our lunch. Hopefully my Fibro will cooperate this time.

      Pam

  2. I am glad this comforts you. For me, I am not so sure. My husband and I are both chronically ill, waiting for someone to judge if we are disabled enough to collect.

    We need a miracle this year. We probably will file for bankruptcy. I don’t know where we will live or what will happen when all our money and credit is gone.

    We have had many bad years and 2011 is looking to be one of the worst.

    Sorry to be a downer. If I did something to offend God, then I don’t know it, but I can’t imagine what my little boy could have done.

    I feel forgotten by Him, but maybe you and others can help remind him of my family. Thank you.

    • Emily, I’m so sorry! I hope that you are surprised by the new year and by the presence of God in your life. I certainly pray to that end for you, my friend! ((((HUGS))))

Leave a Reply

