Chilly Enough For Chili – Here’s Mine – Show Me Yours

I don’t do Tasty Tuesday anymore.  Mostly because I am not a cook and because I really don’t like to cook.  Baking, I love!!  Cooking, I hate!!  But I do have a few things that I enjoy cooking. One of them is chili.  I don’t even remember where I got this recipe.  I’ve used it for 16 years.  My MIL gave me a journal for recipes.  I have it crammed full. I only use a few out of it though.  My chili recipe is at the front so I know I’ve been using it a long time. 

And I don’t put everything in that the recipe calls for.  It calls for celery – I hate celery.  It calls for green and red peppers – I hate green and red peppers.  But everything else goes in it.  I used to not like to put garlic in it but I started about a year ago putting it in and I really like it.  Sometimes I make cornbread – although I’m the only one who likes cornbread with chili.  Most of the time we just eat it with crackers, cheese and sour cream if we have them.  Anyway, I’m making it today and thought I would share the recipe with you all.  I thought it would be nice for you to blog your chili recipe and come here to leave the link in my comments section.  When I have a few links to share I will write a new post to share them all so you can pass your recipes on to others.  Since it’s winter and it is chili weather I thought this was a great idea.  Now if noone shares their recipes then everyone can just make mine.  And here it is:

Hearty Hunter Chili

2 lb. ground beef

1 md. onion, chopped (I do add extra since I don’t add any of the other veggies)

1 cup sliced celery (YUCK)

1/2 cup chopped green pepper (YUCK)

1/2 cup chopped red pepper (YUCK)

1 (28 oz.) can diced tomatoes – undrained

1 (6 oz.) can tomato paste

4 minced garlic cloves (I use the minced garlic in the jar)

1 tsp. salt

2 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp. pepper

1 (30 oz.) can chili beans – undrained

Brown ground beef and veggies. Drain. Add remaining ingredients except beans. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat cover and simmer 1 hour. Add chili beans and simmer till thoroughly heated.

One thought on “Chilly Enough For Chili – Here’s Mine – Show Me Yours

  1. My wife makes really good chili. Even though we’re in sunny southern Florida, we still do the chili thing in the winter. Since she makes the chili, I just enjoy eating it. We do the cornbread occasionally, but we do put cheese and fritos in it. Crackers is merely a substitute if there’s no fritos.

    Just wonderin’ how much cayenne you put in today! I had fun with your other half as it began to settle in!!

    Oh, and we’ve found that letting it simmer in a crock pot all day accomplishes two things: 1) it fills the house with an incredible aroma, and 2) it locks in a lot of the flavor. Yep, may just ask the wife to fix some chili this week!

Leave a Reply

