A Special Treasure

Have you ever gone hunting for gold?  You stand in the middle of the muddy water – you’re cold and wet – you’re bent over staring at your pan. You look and look for that one shiny piece of gold among all the mud.  After a while you just find yourself staring at the pan and not really searching anymore when suddenly you see something.  You take it out and wash it off and find that it is a precious piece of gold.  Success!  You wonder how that ever happened.  How did YOU get so lucky to find something so good among all the mud.

That kind of explains how I found my friend Jeanie. I’ve known her for years but never really spent much time one on one with her. One Wednesday night I ended up in her Bible Study class.  She was facilitating Beth Moore’s study on Esther. Each week that I went I would stay and talk to Jeanie a little more each week. Sometimes I would get there early enough to help her set up. Sometimes I would stay after class just to chit-chat.  As time went on I realized what a precious treasure she is as a friend.  This was right in the middle of the health problems my dad was having.  I found out that her mother was also battling cancer.  So we bonded over prayers for one another’s parent who was ill.

Over the weeks when the Esther study was coming to a close we decided we would like to co-teach a class together. My attendance was iffy because of having to be gone to Ohio – sometimes as a moments’ notice. So we worked well as a team. As time has gone on I have realized what a strong, loyal, faithful and sweet friend she truly is.  I am now in her LifeGroup. She is a wonderful teacher/leader. She grew up a missionary kid and I grew up a preacher/pastor’s kid. So, we have a lot in common.

As the days go by I find myself loving her a little more each day.  She is her mom’s primary caretaker at this point. She is also a wife and mother to her own family. She is an incredible example of a true servant of God.  So, I would like to introduce you to my friend Jeanie.

I hope that you have a friend as good to you as Jeanie is to me. I love you, Jeanie. I pray for you and your family every day. May God bless you always!

One thought on “A Special Treasure

Leave a Reply

