Show & Tell Shawl – Giveaway Opportunity – Come See!!!

My friend Suzy over at Not A Fertile Myrtle is hosting a Show & Tell meme. Of course it’s a new opportunity to share some pics, which I love to do, so I’m IN!

Today’s Show & Tell item is really a little embarrassing to me. I started working on it on Thanksgiving weekend 2009 and I’m still not finished with it yet. That weekend my friend, Kim, taught me how to knit. I made a scarf (which I don’t use) but later went to JoAnn’s and found some beautiful and soft yarn that drew me in. I had no idea when I walked in the store what I wanted to make. But when I found the yarn it had instructions for making a prayer shawl. I thought it was a great idea specifically because it is so cold in our Lifegroup (Sunday School) classroom at church. We have a collection of knitted wraps that we take out when we go to class each Sunday morning.

So, here is the skeen of yarn that I found.

It is super soft and a beautiful shade of gold. Of course the picture doesn’t do anything for the real thing. Don’t you just hate that? Anyway, I am about half done. I’m not really following any specific instructions. I learned how to start a project by watching a You Tube video because I couldn’t remember what Kim had shown me. Now I am just knitting a few rows whenever the urge hits me. I’m not counting rows. I’m just gonna stop when I feel like it’s the length I want it to be. And I have no idea how to end a project. So, maybe I will have Suzy show me or hit up You Tube again. I would like to learn how to do different kinds of stitches. I don’t even know the stitch I am doing now.

Here’s what I’ve got so far:

Well, that’s my Show & Tell entry for today. I think I will go knit now. And the next time Suzy and I have lunch I’m gonna take my project along to have a REAL Show & Tell session. When are we having lunch again?

Swing on over to Suzy’s blog at Not A Fertile Myrtle and share your Show & Tell entry. I’m excited to see what you have to share too. I feel like I’m in first grade all over again. Although a 43 year old in 1st grade just seems a little sad…..Ok, a LOT sad…….

 

This happens to be my 1000th post! In order to celebrate that I will be giving away a $10 Target giftcard to a random commenter to this post. That’s the only requirement. Just post a comment and at the end of the day (Midnight) you may receive a $10 Target gift card. That simple! Huh? Did you have something to say? That’s what I thought!

27 thoughts on “Show & Tell Shawl – Giveaway Opportunity – Come See!!!

  1. Wow! What determination to work on this project (and YouTube it, no less!)

    I am not a knitter, but I like what I see…

    I hope when its done, it warms up someone special. 🙂

  2. You and Abby need to spend some time together! She is so much like you in that knitting thing. She enjoys it, but I don’t think she’s counted a stitch yet!

  3. Hi Pam, I think your stitch is the stockinette stitch…if you knit one row and purl the other. or garter stitch if just knitting. I may have some books about that show you how to end a piece…want me to send it if I do???

    • Sure Polly – thank you! That would be great! Or if you just wanna make a copy of the page that pertains to ending so you don’t have to send the whole book that would be fine. ❤ U!!

  4. Pam I started knitting at the exact same time. I finished a scarf for each of my grandkids which none of them wear. I tried to purl and I couldn’t do it so I quit. I am so impressed that you haven’t given up. Could you send me a piece of your yarn so I can feel how soft it is? It looks really pretty.

    • I would be glad to. It is so super soft. I just can’t wait till it’s finished so I can wrap up in it. That may be when I enter the nursing home though.

  5. Oh my goodness, your 1000th post! Wow, what an accomplishment! Hip hip hooray!

    I just have to say, I love your project, it looks beautiful and I know it will wrap you or whoever gets it in a whole lot of love. ❤ Thanks for sharing! Maybe I will do a show and tell post. =)

    • Amy, thanks a bunch for coming by and for the subscription. How fun! I look forward to getting to know you thru my comments section in the days ahead. And I hope you’ll be around for a while. I have a feeling I’ll be in a nursing home before I finish this shawl…….SIGH

  6. Wow! Thank you so much for the chance and congrats on the 1000th post. That’s very impressive. Can’t wait to see your finished product!

  7. I have always wanted to learn to knit… As a preteen/teen I would crochet little things and do embroidery but I never learned to knit.

    You have me thinking about some embroidery patterns I have… Hmmm (cause I don’t have enough right now already on my plate, LOL!)

  8. I remember when you 1st started this project 🙂 It looks great, keep up the good work, I love to crochet, but havent learned how to knit yet. Maybe you can teach me 🙂

    xoxo
    Lesha

Leave a Reply

