When Friends Are Family

I have had a wonderful friend in my life for almost 10 years now. She knows me like the back of her hand and I know her like the back of my hand. There have been times in those 10 years that we have had “issues” as all friends do. Any normal friendship is full of ups and downs. I think that’s how you know you are true friends. Any relationship that is all ups after 10 years seems suspicious to me. I love her and have loved her through all the downs AND the ups.

Besties!

Our friendship began 10 years ago when I started babysitting their youngest child, Hannah, after she was born in 2001. Here is Hannah today:

Lauren & Hannah

Yeah, it’s been a long friendship.  Look how big she is. And how beautiful. I’m sure she is so beautiful because she had a wonderful babysitter from the time she was 6 weeks old. That was the beginning of our bond.

Kim is a friend who always sticks by my side. There are times we have been separated – by miles and just by life in general – but when we get together it’s like no time has lapsed at all. We have had some friendship tests over the 10 years but we have always made our way through them. If you have a friend who you have disagreements with and you come through on the other side still loving them and supporting them then you know they are a friend for life.  I’m not sure there is anything that could separate us and the bond we have.

She and I have sat together at many soccer games, many church services, many dinners, many choir performances, many game nights and many many holidays. Our families have always been more like natural family than just friends.  I’ve always said that they are family we have chosen.

Easter 2009

When we go out for Girls Night Out we talk non-stop. We tell each other our secrets and what’s on our hearts and in our minds. She knows me and I know her. We are more like sisters than friends. I think the bumps along the way has played a big role in that.

I think we were meant to meet and become “sisters” because God knew I would need a sweet friend to hold me up when I am down and someone who I could support when they are down as well. That is Kim. Everyone needs a person like her in their life. Someone you can talk openly to no matter what the subject. Someone who is gonna love and accept you no matter what they know about you.

Last night's GNO!

Kim, I love you! Ups and downs – stressors or not – distance or nearness – busyness or slow times – weeks of not seeing each other or talking every day. No matter what the circumstance I am here for you! I choose you as my sister! I choose you as my friend! I love you!

3 thoughts on “When Friends Are Family

Leave a Reply

