A Morning Of Fibro Fog – What It’s Really Like

Ok – I thought I would fill you in on what Fibro Fog is like. I’ve been dealing with a lot of it lately. So, here it is in written form. It shouldn’t be too hard to figure out. Getting through just a morning of Fibro Fog would look something like this.

I need to make……………………………………………….what was that I needed to make…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………I’m hungry – I should make breakfast. (Stare blindly straight ahead for about 5 minutes) Seems like there is something I was gonna do……………I should start a load of……………………………………….these dirty towels are piled awfully high………………………………………………………………………………………Oooo a magazine………………..(pick up magazine and look at it but not actually see it)………………………..what was I gonna do? Oh I need to text……..who was that again……………..the towels…..I need to text the towels……………………no wait……………who is that on this magazine? I’ve seen them before. I think their name starts with a T…………..(stomach growls)…..I’m hungry……………….maybe I’ll eat some uhhhhhhhhhh…….some uhhhhhhhhhh……..that stuff I like to eat………dang it what is it called? It starts with a T……………no wait……that’s the magazine………oh look…………………I should wash these towels…….hey that starts with a T too.  Maybe I’ll take a nap. (sleep for an hour and wake up).  What day is this again………….I need to text that one girl…………………………………..WOW it’s only 10:00………………………..did I take my medicine? (stare blankly at the TV till lunch when I realize I’m still hungry)

And THAT my friends is a morning of Fibro Fog! Welcome to my brain!

24 thoughts on “A Morning Of Fibro Fog – What It’s Really Like

    • I don’t think anyone really understands it. Somedays it feels more like what dementia might be like. A jumbled mess of half thoughts with words you can’t think of but that you know you know.

      Your love and support mean the world to me.

  1. This happens to me regularly and is probably my main fear of trying to return to my career in nursing. I know how huge the responsibility it is and am so afraid because of this pain and foggy thinking. I pray that we who suffer can find a better way. Blessings to you.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention A Morning Of Fibro Fog – What It’s Really Like « The Journey Leads Home -- Topsy.com

  3. You aren’t alone – sounds like this house! It sure helps to laugh at ourselves especially when you are standing in the room for a while staring and have no idea why you are there. Then the phone rings and someone is at the door. Oh, then you get tired so it’s nap time! 🙂

  4. I followed a tweet here, hi from a fellow fibromite.

    I can totally relate to this. I forget what I’m doing so I start doing something else and then… well, you know how it goes. I try to laugh at myself but then I wonder how bad it’s going to be when I’m elderly. Good grief! 🙂

    I work as a server and my coworkers get a laugh when I’m particularly foggy because I literally sing my to-do list when I’m back in the kitchen: “Water, Coke, lemonade, bread…la la la”. It’s so I don’t forget what I’m after. Sadly I always forget at least one thing.

    The joys of life in a fog, huh? 😉

  5. I’m so glad you are starting to write more about your illness! My fibro fog consists of losing things, not coming up with a word, even if it’s “chair”, forgetting conversations and forgetting to do things.

    Sometimes my husband doesn’t believe me when I tell him that I really don’t remember us talking about something or that I am incapable of carrying on a conversation with him at any given moment.

    Fibro fog just has to be experienced to be believed!

    • Ron is always saying to me “we’ve already talked about this”. I just reply with “well pretend like we haven’t and tell me again”. It really is hard to figure out unless someone experiences it.

  6. I basically explain to my friends that I’m like a ADD kid…I get distracted easily and my short term memory is near non-existant.

Leave a Reply

