I Surrender To The Mighty Tormenter

Has it really been 3 weeks since I started the 3 in 30 challenge? Really? That’s hard to believe. I am doing fairly well with my goals. A couple of them stall occasionally but I give them a jolt of adrenaline and they pick right back up again.

The laundry continues to be a thorn in my flesh! It kind of reminds me of what Paul said in II Corinthians. I was gonna find it in a different translation but the King James Version makes it sound so much more evil and sinister so I’m gonna stick with that!

2nd Corinthians 12:7

  • “And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure”.

See, laundry is a message of satan sent to torment me! I knew it! I just knew it!!! I think we should just throw away all our dirty clothes and buy new ones every week instead of washing, drying and putting these away.  I never have any luck convincing Ron of this and I have a feeling I’m not convincing anyone else of it either. DADGUM IT!

I have read a lot in my book I’m reading for Bible study – So Long, Insecurity by Beth Moore. I haven’t made it to the actual Bible study yet but I am keeping up with them in the reading anyway. This is the second time I have read this book and I’m telling you what – I’m not sure I learned ANYTHING the first time through. It is so challenging. Each paragraph proves to me just how insecure I am and why. Noone can lay it on the line like Beth, that’s for sure. I am forming an entry in my mind about Insecurity. It’s just so hard to face and admit. It’s like scratching the scab off a wound and looking inside. (Wasn’t that a lovely analogy? You’re welcome!)

My personal reading is going very well. I feel so much smarter when I read for pleasure. Sometimes I have to reread the same thing 800 times but at least I’m taking some time just for me. And I am enjoying it. I have already met that goal for the month. I have completed On Mystic Lake by Kristin Hannah and am now halfway through Amazing Grace by Danielle Steel.  Very happy about that.

I’m thinking about just forgetting the laundry and only doing my reading goals. I think that could work! I may have just talked myself into letting the laundry piles win and take over the house. They are gonna do that anyway. Why fight it! Sometimes you just have to know when to give in. That settles it – I’m giving in and boycotting laundry!

I am holding on to this Confucious quote this week! I’m working on it. This Confucious guy – I bet he had piles of laundry laying around too.

“It does not matter how slowly you go, so long as you do not stop.”
~Confucius

11 thoughts on “I Surrender To The Mighty Tormenter

  1. LOVE the quote; love IT!! I too read So Long Insecurity – the book literally jumped into my hands off the shelf when I was walking through B&N one day – I gobbled it UP. When we peel back the layers of who we are, it all boils down to that….insecurity; fear.

    As for laundry? One load per day is how I manage it, sometimes more, but for sure 1 load, wash dry and put! I have a “hanging” rod in my laundry room with empty hangers, when I empty the dryer the clothes/towels either get folded or hung up then I quickly PUT them away! That’s how I tackled the beast!! =)

    You’re doing a GREAT job – WTG!! =)

    Keeping it Personal,
    Teri Johnson

    • Thank you so much, Teri. Your laundry plan is what I want to do as well. Somedays I accomplish it and some days I don’t. Those darn towels just get so out of control so fast.

      • OK, I hope this doesn’t sound gross, but do you reuse your towels? My philosophy is, I am clean when I get out of the shower, so I can reuse the towel for a couple of days. I’ve taught this to my husband and my boys too, we hang up the towels on a hook to dry after we use them so they are ready for the next day. {of course we don’t SHARE towels, we each have our own} BUT the result? We use less towels, LESS laundry!! =)

      • I think abt doing that but then I usually forget before I can actually tell them abt it. HA! I was thinking abt it this morning actually. I will see if I can remember to tell them this time.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention I Surrender To The Mighty Tormenter « The Journey Leads Home -- Topsy.com

  3. Your post made me laugh 🙂 I’m such an oddball – I love laundry {shoot me now!!} but can totally understand how it can get overwhelming if you don’t like it!! Great job on the rest of your goals 🙂

  4. I’m with you on the laundry!! I was fussing just yesterday at how the laundry around here seems to multiply like rabbits. Just when I think I can breathe b/c it’s all done up, the dirty clothes hamper is overflowing again. Wha-?! Oh well. To live is to do laundry. And dishes. And floors. And…. 😉

Leave a Reply

