Is It Over Already?

So much to blog about…..so little memory to remember any of it……But it’s Friday so I will start with my 3 in 30 update. Since it is the final update for the month it is time for some closing comments for the month and think about a plan for March. I really can’t believe this month is over already.

By way of reminder, my February goals were –

1.) Do a load of laundry a day in order to stay on top of the laundry monster.

2.) Spend time each day with the Lord. My plan for this month was to accomplish that by reading the book So Long, Insecurity by Beth Moore.

3.) Read for pleasure by completing one book and be well on my way through a second book.

I wasn’t a shining success in every area but I’m actually ok with that. Most of the time, sadly, I am satisfied with being mediocre. The reason for that is a month’s worth of personal counseling sessions and numerous blog posts. Thankfully, for you and for me, that’s now what this is about. Therefore I can just glance over it by admitting I am satisfied with being mediocre. Therefore, in my mind I am satisfied with my mediocre success.

If you have been keeping up with my 3 in 30 updates then you know that I have a love/hate relationship with the laundry. I love to hate it! I have been sick for the past week. Some days I have managed my one load of laundry a day. Other days I only managed to ADD TO the dirty clothes pile instead of exerting the energy to take a load to the washing machine each day. I’m really better at adding to the dirty clothes instead of the clean clothes. Overall though I am fairly satisfied with the end results of my laundry goal set for February.

As for the reading goal meant to improve my relationship with the Lord, while I have been reading it, I have yet to have made it to one of the Bible Study sessions. My health just hasn’t allowed it yet. I have been keeping up with the reading in the hopes that the NEXT study will be the one that I am able to make it. However, I have not read in it every day. That seems to have averaged about 3 days a week. I DO realize there are four other days in a week, I just have managed to grab ahold of that particular book when I have been in the mood to read each time. I will continue working on this goal because I really do want to get to the study on Wednesday mornings. I don’t want to be the new girl AND the one that’s behind and has nothing to add to the conversation.

The one goal I can say I have successfully completed is my personal reading goal. I completed the book On Mystic Lake by Kristin Hannah. And I have read about half of the book Amazing Grace by Danielle Steel. I found the Danielle Steel book to be slow and a bit boring so I abandoned it and started the book Barefoot by Elin Hildebrand. Not sure if I will make it through that one. I’m only on page 20 so far. While I was at Target today I picked up a new book by Randy Susan Meyers titled The Murderer’s Daughters. Now I want to lay aside the Barefoot book and read the new book. Haven’t decided yet what I will do.

So that brings me to the March goals. I was thinking about not participating this month. However, I have found that setting personal goals for myself is actually a good motivator. So, I have chosen the following as my 3 goals for March:

1.) At least one load of laundry a day. This one really needs to be a must and probably will be each month until it is a habit for me.

2.) Check Grade Speed each week to keep up with my kids’ grades. Grade Speed is the online service that the school uses for the teacher’s to keep parents informed. I haven’t been very good at  checking it. I have found that when I do check it the kids grades are better.

3.) Make it to every soccer game and/or at least one practice per week. Since MIchael has been driving I have not been going to practices anymore. Lauren asked me to try to come again because she really likes it when I do come. That meant the world to me. And because the season officially begins in March I will be at at least two games each week. I want to get to all of those AND one practice each week – probably a Monday. My health kept me from a large number of Lauren’s games for her season. I am determined NOT to allow that to happen this time for Michael’s season.

So, there you have it – an update and my new goals! Let the fun begin!

7 thoughts on “Is It Over Already?

  1. My long term goal is to slay the laundry monster. I also HATE doing laundry. I love the smell of laundry, I love having it done, but my 2 things I hate most is dishes and laundry because they NEVER END!
    Good job!

    • I hear that! Thankfully I have teenagers and their jobs include the dishes. And they do their own laundry so that does help some. But I do all the towels and mine and Ron’s clothes. UGH!

      Gonna grab a nap now – will check out your update later on. You DID do an update this week, right?????? 🙂

  2. Haha I DID! (YAY ME!) LOL

    I just realized you kids are almost exactly 10 years older than mine and you are 10 years older than me, so we had our kids at the same age….no point, just noticed it. hehehe

Leave a Reply

