In A Word…Prayer

If you are following me on Twitter then you know that my cousin, Lesha, has been dealing with just a horrible situation with her father. Her dad had a brain aneurysm over the weekend. Lesha and her family traveled straight through from their home in south Florida to Ohio. Unfortunately things did not end well and she and her siblings had to make the decision to remove life support yesterday because there was no longer any brain activity. I want to thank all of you for your prayers for them. I also want to request that your prayers continue for them. Her mother died when Lesha was a teenager from breast cancer and now her father has died as well. She is carrying a heavy load. At the time of his death her father was not married so the medical decisions had to be made by Lesha and her siblings. I can’t imagine the emotional weight.

When I was growing up our two families were very close because her mom (my Aunt Carol) and my mom were close. They were the only two of the 9 siblings that lived in Dayton. So, we were all really close. Lesha, Jill and I were all fairly close in age. I wrote a post all about my Aunt back in October for Breast Cancer Awareness month. You can click the link in the previous sentence to see that entry. She was a fun loving person and a fab aunt.

At any rate, I just wanted to ask my readers to lift my cousin (who is more like a sister to me) up in prayer right now. I can’t imagine the grief associated with the death of a parent. I mentally prepared myself for it during the time my dad was so sick. But I just can’t imagine how heavy the burden would be to bear. Lesha is a Christian and has the Lord to give her comfort. However, I don’t know that any of her siblings are Christians. Pray that the Lord would use their father’s death to draw them to Himself. Here are a couple of pictures recently taken with Lesha and one with her sister Jill to help give you a face to the name in your prayers.

Reconnected thanks to FB

Love these two like the sisters I never had

Jill looks exactly like Aunt Carol. And Lesha looks exactly like her dad.

Thank you all for your prayer support.

5 thoughts on “In A Word…Prayer

  1. Lord I pray for Lesha and family and ask that you comfort them in the loss of their Father. You have promised to be a Father to the fatherless and I ask that you carry them in your loving arms as they go through the days ahead. May they not be lonely or sad, but give them each the Joy of your Face and show your love unto them. Amen

Leave a Reply

