Grumpy, Confused, Fat, Sleepy Blogging

It is Wednesday. That means a lot of things. It means it is hump day. I’ve always hated that name because of the connotations with the word “hump”. If there is anything I don’t wanna do is actually hump a DAY much less…..oh never mind. And in the blogging world it is also Wordless Wednesday or for some of us wordy types there is Semi-Wordless Wednesday. It also means that it is church night. For a variety of reasons – none of which you care about – I do not usually attend church on Wednesday nights. I shan’t bore you with the circumstances that have led me to that decision. Unless you ask of course….go ahead and ask….I dare ya! However, my kids go to youth group on Wednesday nights. We have an incredible youth group and if it’s possible my kids actually whine (at 16 & 17) if they can’t go for whatever reason. And as a parent who hated whining when they were 2 I still hate it when they are 16 and 17. Thankfully Michael can drive so he can take his whining sister away from me – far far far away from me.

It also means that it is Pour Your Heart Out Wednesday from over at Shell’s blog, Things I Can’t Say. When I actually try to think about things that I can’t say I realize that most of the time I actually DO say them anyway. So, what does that give me to write about on Wednesdays? Well, I can always come up with things to say. So here we go! I think today’s topic is something that everyone will be able to identify with, if not now then surely at some point in your past you have had to deal with it. Even if you didn’t please lie to me and tell me that you have so I don’t feel like such a freak. Thanks that’d be great!

I have no earthly idea what my brain could possibly be thinking by sleeping 5 or 6 hours during the DAY and then only sleeping 3 hours some nights while other nights sleeping a full 7 hours. I swear my sleep spot in my brain is totally bipoloar. What’s up with that? Why am I sleeping during the day and occasionally sleep all night but then sleep next to nothing other nights. I don’t get it! I take enough medicine in a day/night to knock out a horse. I take Ambien. I even have to get special approval to take a dosage of Ambien over the recommended dosage. I take 15 mgs of Ambien every night and I NEVER miss a dose. Yet some nights I sleep 7 hours and other nights I sleep 3 hours. BIPOLAR I TELL YOU! BIPOLAR!!

Do you know what happens to your body when you don’t get proper sleep in a night? Huh? Do you? Answer me!! Well, first of all it makes you short tempered! See there. I have a medical excuse to be grumpy. So, deal with it or else hit me over the head with a hammer each night. Know what else happens? YOU SLEEP ALL DAY!!! That’s just dumb!

Some other symptoms of not sleeping enough are:

Yawning during the day. Well, duhhhhhhhhh. And is there anything more annoying than a person who tries to talk through a yawn or who makes one of those irritating groaning kind of sounds with EVERY SINGLE YAWN? I’m already grumpy people – don’t make me slap you for being annoying.

Lack of concentration. Those of us with Fibromyalgia have hard enough problems avoiding Fibro Fog we don’t need anything else to steal the very little amount of brain activity we operate off of with a full night’s sleep.

And this is a new one on me – but apparently lack of sleep is directly related to weight gain! So THAT’S where all these pounds have come from……..and here I thought it was all the junk food I eat and all the TV I watch. So, glad that it’s just the lack of sleep.

So there you have it! That’s what you get from me when I have been awake since 3 a.m. after only 3 hours of sleep. You get a grumpy, confused, irritated, yawning, fat blogger.

By the way, hope you’re enjoying that full night of sleep you are getting. HMPH!!

4 thoughts on “Grumpy, Confused, Fat, Sleepy Blogging

  1. When I get one I enjoy it. However my brain like to wake up in the middle of the night and not go back to sleep all to often. And I don’t get daily naps anymore either. Insomnia is a pain in the neck.

  2. I have wonky sleep habits too. I have no problems falling asleep, it’s staying asleep. If I get 3 hours of continuous sleep, it’s a win.

    Fortunately, I’m in a position that afternoon naps are possible, and a welcome respite during the day.

Leave a Reply

