I’m Going On A Learning Excursion In My Mind

I am really into reading right now. How long has it been since you’ve just sat down for a bit with a good book and gotten lost in another life or another time? My favorite place to read is sitting at my patio table with a cold drink, my dog at my feet, my feet propped up in a chair and the feel of a book in my lap as I lose myself in the storyline. What are you reading right now that you are liking?

I set a goal for myself for 2011. I have decided to read 30 books for pleasure. I am now on book #10 and it is the end of April. I think I’m doing pretty well. My girlfriend, Jeanie, gave me a book for my birthday by Francine Rivers called A Mother’s Hope. I don’t usually read books containing any truly historical nature. This one begins around the turn of the 20th century and I admit I’m truly enjoying this one. I’ve never read any of Francine Rivers. But if Jeanie gave it to me then I am gonna use it. It is about the generational curses that pass from generation to generation. A young girl leaves the abusive home of her father to follow her own dreams and change her life. However, as she marries and has a family of her own she finds herself being just what she hated most in her father.

I find myself identifying quite a bit with Marta, the girl in the book. I think we can learn a lot by the mistakes of the adults in our family as we are growing up. We don’t have to use the excuse “that’s just the way I am”. We can break the cycle of those learned behaviors and in turn NOT pass down those inappropriate traits. A few years ago I did Beth Moore’s Breaking Free study and learned so much about myself that it was petrifying. But I feel like I truly broke some of those generational curses so that my children have a new history to write.

That’s what I’m enjoying most about Marta in this Francine Rivers book. It’s a reminder that you can’t just ignore the mistakes of the past. You have to correct them so that your children can have a better future and learn to make better choices in their future for their children.

What are you reading right now that you are learning from? I’m taking suggestions. I still have 20 books to go for the year. Check out my On My Nightstand tab to see my recommendations. I have much to learn and it’s a great adventure.

3 thoughts on “I’m Going On A Learning Excursion In My Mind

  1. Right now I am reading “The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating” by Elisabeth Tova Bailey. It’s a true story of a woman with an illness that leaves her bedridden, giving her lots of time to lose herself in the snail’s world. It might sound boring, but it isn’t and is beautifully written. I don’t know how it ends yet!

  2. I recently finished To Kill a Mockingbird, which I read at school, simply because we have Drop Everything And Read (DEAR) time each morning. Currently, I’m reading The Seven Year Stretch: How Families Work Together to Grow Through Adolescence (just thought it would be good to read), as well as a memoir from a former foster child, called Three Little Words. This is misleading, though, since these are probably the only books I will read all year. I guess I go in spurts!

Leave a Reply

