Accountability, Support, Goals and Friends

Well, it’s about that time again. I took a month off. But what I found out is that I really wish I hadn’t. I missed it. I missed the accountability. I missed the support. I missed the pressure. I missed the comraderie. I missed the goals. I missed the people. So one month off is enough. Throw my name back in the hate for May. 3 in 30, I AM BACK!!

The 3 in 30 Challenge is all about setting goals and meeting them. To be perfectly honest I’ve never really been one to set goals for myself. I’ve always been satisfied with the status quo. I’ve never been one to really strive for a finish line of any kind. Kinda sad, isn’t it? I’ve been satisfied with living in the here and now with a “whatever happens, happens” attitude. I’ve been the kind of person who is perfectly fine with getting through an entire day from start to finish without getting anything productive accomplished. Honestly, I’m lazy. I admit it. And I’ve always been ok with that…..until now.

The end of January I started seeing a hashtag on Twitter that intrigued me. It is #3in30. When I inquired what it was for I was directed to Ashley’s blog where I learned about the 3 in 30 challenge. It sounded easy enough. It sounded like something I could do in order to start on the road to change. The challenge is to choose 3 goals that you want to accomplish in the upcoming month (30 days). That’s it! I started following the 3 in 30 hosts, Ashley and Meghan, and jumped in feet first.

The biggest thorn in my flesh is the laundry. My goal in February was to do at least one load of laundry a day so that it isn’t so overwhelming. When I get overwhelmed by something my response is to completely shut down and then get depressed. As we all know, it doesn’t take long for the laundry to get away from you. So I knew that had to be one of my goals. I drug that goal along with me into March as well. I have a love/hate relationship with the laundry….basically I love to hate it. I go through days where I stay right on top of it. Then I go through days where I pretend like it doesn’t exist – which leads to that whole overwhelming thing – which leads me to shut down – which leads to the laundry piles getting higher – which means I get farther behind. It’s a vicious cycle!

So when April rolled around I decided to just not participate for really no reason. After about 2 weeks I realized that I really missed the accountability, encouragement, support and the girls. So I determined to return in May. AND HERE I AM!!! Now for May’s goals:

1 – Stay on top of the laundry by doing at least one load of laundry from beginning to end each and every day no matter how I feel!

2 – I have been enjoying meeting friends occasionally for lunch or a snack and just talking and catching up. I would like to meet a friend at least once a week in person for a visit – whether it involves food or not.

3 – Because the kids are one year away from college and it is apparent that my working a regular job is out of the question, I plan to learn various ways I can use my blog to generate some income. I know that will involve me learning about things I know next to nothing about. By the end of May I hope to have something in place here at The Journey Leads Home to start bringing in some amount of money in order to begin saving/contributing to the household and for college.

And that will be my May! Do you need some help in the goal setting department for your own life? Consider clicking one of the links in this post and joining us for the 3 in 30 Challenge! If I can do it – you can do it! I’m ready! Let’s do this – TOGETHER!

7 thoughts on “Accountability, Support, Goals and Friends

  1. I LOVE your goals! I get the same way – I shut down when overwhelmed. That’s why I can’t find my kitchen counter! I’m with you on learning about how to earn some money blogging! I just started with my media kit and getting advertisers – it’s a slow process! I look forward to getting to know you better through this challenge!

  2. I need this! The accounatability will be good for me. I am exactly the same as far as shutting down when overwhelmed. I have friends that hit overdrive, but me? I hit the couch and do nothing. It easier to shut down than to deal. This encougages me and makes me feel that I’m not alone. Now to decide on the goals…

  3. Great goals! I’ve always struggled to keep up with laundry… and I’m getting ready to add baby clothes and cloth diapers to the mix! Yikes! lol Good luck on your goals! šŸ™‚

  4. I love your goals. I’ve recently realized that I share the same reaction to be overwhelmed. I’ll keep you in my prayers this month that you will stay motivated and encouraged.

    As for making money with your blog, check out problogger.net. It is a pretty good, realistic look at making money while blogging.

    I stopped by from 3 in 30 (and Twitter). šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

