Super Easy Versatile Crockpot Chicken Recipe

I just saw a tweet come through from a busy mom asking for an easy dinner to make with 6 chicken breasts in her fridge. I instantly thought of this recipe that I make when I’m FORCED to have to cook something (interpretation: Ron is out of town and we are low on money for pizza). And I really must add here that I think it is so funny that I am sharing recipes on my blog this week. ME – the one who HATES to cook – NEVER has to cook because I have a husband who enjoys it (foreign idea to me) and AVOIDS cooking at all costs. Yet I am the one who instantly popped up with “I have the perfect recipe for that” right off the bat. (It’s ok – this time I’m laughing along with you….continue…..)

This is a recipe I picked up about 4 years or so ago in a crockpot cookbook. I adapt it depending on what I have. I’ll list the basics and then list some of the things I add if I have them. OH and I’m sure it has a name but I call it Chicken Whatever in the Crockpot because it’s CHICKEN cooked in the CROCKPOT with WHATEVER I find on hand. It’s not rocket science, people!

Chicken Whatever in the Crockpot

Chicken breasts (ever how many you have or want – we usually eat about 1 1/2 per person here so I figure it that way – with a calculator of course.)

Can or Two of Cream of Whatever soup (Chicken, celery, mushrooms…you get the idea)

1/2 cup of sour cream

salt, pepper and paprika to taste

Spray your crockpot – put the chicken in the bottom and then pour the rest of everything on top. YOu can mix it if you want but I don’t because that’s just dirtying another dish. I dump it all in and spread it over the chicken. Once it starts cooking it will blend easily.

I have added corn, peas, mixed veggies before.

Cook it on low for 6 hours. Serve it over rice, noodles or mashed potatoes.

WHATEVER WHATEVER WHATEVER…..

One thought on “Super Easy Versatile Crockpot Chicken Recipe

  1. This is my “go to” recipe when dh isn’t home. He likes doing most of the cooking and I’m all for that! Funny thing is that the kids LOVE the above recipe and consider it a treat since they only get it when I cook! We just had it Monday night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

