My Feelings About The Matter

1. The illness I live with is:
Fibromyalgia

2. I was diagnosed with it in the year:
1998 – SIGH

3. But I had symptoms since:
1993 right after Michael was born
4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is:
Disappointing my family when I can’t do something with them or for them.

5. Most people assume:
I’m just someone they can’t count on and probably that I’m just lazy

6. The hardest part about mornings are:
Looking at the clock for the first time – usually seeing it is way too early to be awake but am unable to go back to sleep

7. My favorite medical TV show is:
Grey’s Anatomy – does that count? HA

8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is:
My cell phone – it’s my lifeline to the world during the day

9. The hardest part about nights are:
Staying asleep – usually when I wake up I can’t go back to sleep. So staying asleep is the worst part

10. Each day I take __ pills & vitamins. (No comments, please)
I think 11 but I haven’t counted them in a long time.

11. Regarding alternative treatments I:
I am for anything that will help anyone. What helps me won’t help you and vice versa. So I say try it all and see what happens.

12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose:
I kind of think I would rather have a visible illness so people don’t think I’m lazy or undependable.

13. Regarding working and career:
We chose for my family to be my career. However, I have always planned to work when the kids go to college to help pay for it. But now that it is time to do that I am physically unable to do so. I know it is gonna put a big strain on us financially and that is just something else for me to feel guilty about.

14. People would be surprised to know:
Just how badly I really DO feel on a given day.

15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been:
The loss of spontanaeity. Having to cancel plans with family and friends at the last minute because I’m just not up to doing something.

16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was:
Exercise! After my foot surgery in 2009 though I wasn’t able to exercise and have never gotten back into it. I really did feel better when I did though.

17. The commercials about my illness:
I’m happy they are there. Even if they are just a quick blurb they do bring awareness and that is what’s important.

18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is:
Shopping all day and lunching

19. It was really hard to have to give up:
Feeling like a member of my family – having fun with them and spending all day out and about with them.

20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is:
Blogging and I love it immensely

21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would:
Shop shop shop and eat every meal out with friends or family

22. My illness has taught me:
To appreciate the little things in life.

23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is:
I feel so bad today – even though I know that they probably do I just want to say SERIOUSLY? But I have to say that when my friends say that to me I don’t mind it as much.

24. But I love it when people:
Genuinely want to know how I am. YOu can see the difference in their faces and hear it in their voices.

25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is:
Jeremiah 29:11 – God has a plan for my future – a plan to help me and not hurt me

26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them:
Find a pain management doctor who truly cares about how you are and is willing to do/learn about anything/everything that will help you. YOu might have to search for a while but stick with it. You deserve the right doctor for you. Don’t stop until you find them.

27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is:
How tired pain can make you.

28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was:
Bring me and the kids dinner when Ron was out of town. (Thanks Jeanie – I love you!)

29. The fact that you read this list makes me feel:

Makes me feel like you really care about what I”m dealing with. Thank you!

6 thoughts on “My Feelings About The Matter

  1. I understand several of the things you are going through. I love your openness. I hadn’t even thought through most of those questions regarding my own situation. I’m thinking about maybe answering these questions myself. Would that be ok? I will link back to your post. Thanks for being an inspiration! Hugs!

  2. Thank you for sharing! This made me cry…cry for your pain; cry because I can relate in some small way and cry for others who deal with chronic illness.

  3. My mother-in-law has multiple sclerosis as well as Fibromyalgia. She truly amazes me…she suffers a lot but she always stays positive and has a smile and kind word for everyone. I don’t think I could handle it half as well as she does. I’m so sorry that you have to suffer with this, too.

Leave a Reply

