Babies and Cardinals

I have been sitting outside enjoying my birthday present a lot since it has warmed up.In case you missed it, my birthday present is a table/chair set for the patio. This week I’ve started paying more attention to the birds in my yard. I’ve been seeing the same bird hanging around the caboose birdhouse my dad made me. I got pictures of him/her and posted them last week I think. I’ve been seeing a red bird hanging out for a couple of weeks. I’ve been patiently waiting for him/her to get close enough for me to get a good picture. Yesterday it did.

So vibrant!

I kind of like it because it is a Cardinal. The Cardinal is the Ohio State Bird. I am from Ohio. It’s a little bit like my childhood in my backyard.

He has a wing of a Cicada in his mouth. If you look on the leaf in the upper left corner you can see the exoskeleton of a cicada.

I’m hoping he is collecting for his nest close by. I would love to have a nest of baby cardinals in my yard. I think I would even shed a tear.

He's so beautiful!

Ahhhh and you can see more cicadas in this picture. Nasty things!!

So after I got these pictures and he flew away I went back to reading. When I looked back up again I noticed a bird sitting on the ground by this same tree. I kept looking but he wasn’t going anywhere and was a little wobbly. I tried to get a picture from where I was sitting but I couldn’t get a good shot. I started thinking it might be a baby bird. So I went closer with my camera. Here is what I saw.

Poor sweet little baby. He was just chirping up a storm.

Eyes not even opened yet!

I wanted to help him. But I know his mama and daddy were close by. I went back to where I was and watched him. He eventually figured out how to hop. He would flutter his wings but couldn’t do anything with them. I’m afraid to go out there to look this morning. We have squirrels and rabbits all over our yard. I hope he figured out how to fly or that his mama or daddy came and took him back to his nest. I didn’t see his nest or I would have tried to help him back in myself. He didn’t come out of the birdhouse though. No babies in there yet.

I’m really starting to enjoy my little feathered friends. But I’m not sure when I got so old that I enjoy birdwatching. Anyway, I thought this might be a good entry for Sundays in my City – even though it was Saturday.

7 thoughts on “Babies and Cardinals

  1. If you found the nest you could gently put him back in. He won’t live on the ground with his eyes still shut. It’s an old wives tale that if you touch them the parents will abandon them.

    Poor little tyke!

  2. Well, if you’re “so old” than I am too! I enjoy some casual bird watching as well. I didn’t realize that the cardinal was the OH state bird, although I knew it was IL state’s. I wonder how many states use them?

Leave a Reply

