Is Your Life One Of Quality Over Quantity?

I must have sat down here at this screen 4 different times yesterday to write. However, I just didn’t have anything to say worth writing. If you have followed my blog any in the last year then you know that I post at least once a day and sometimes 3 or 4 times a day. I post a lot of different kinds of things – pictures, scripture, videos or just writing what is on my mind. So when a day goes by that I don’t post anything it’s usually because I’m not feeling well. Yesterday that really wasn’t the case. I had a headache but I could have written something. But every time I sat down to write I HAD NOTHING! There was a time when I would have just said anything just to post something.

However the phrase “quality over quantity” has popped up in my mind a few times in the last few months. IN the month of May, one of my 3 in 30 goals is to improve my blog. Part of that is my deciding when something is of QUALITY and might be helpful to someone else. That’s not to say that I’m not just gonna spout off occasionally because it makes me feel better. (heheeheehee) But my purpose in writing is changing in my mind. It’s evolving into an attitude of thinking through the question “will this help someone” before writing it. Now, because I am ME, I can honestly say that is probably not gonna happen 100% of the times that I sit down to post an entry.

I received a comment yesterday that kind of cemented this idea in my mind. Here is what it said:

*eyes fill with tears*
Thank you for sharing your words, thoughts & feelings. they so touch my heart & spirit.
And somehow the last 3 times I have come to your blog your words were just what I needed to hear to not feel alone, to not beat myself up, to not feel like a failure at life.
I’m sending a big virtual hug your way!the inspiration you are!
Thank you!

That comment right there explains what I want the purpose of this blog to be. Years ago I determined that the purpose of Fibromyalgia in my life was to help others know how to cope with difficult trials they are faced with. It seems that purpose is to become a thread throughout my life. When I was a pastor’s wife I also looked at hard times in our life as a means to fulfilling that same purpose. I want to thank this commenter for encouraging me for encouraging her. It helped me to realize that if I don’t have something of quality to share then perhaps it’s not really something that is necessary.

But you know where the ability to minister to one another comes from. It comes from our heart. If my heart is in the right place then I can help another. If my attitude is bad or my heart is bitter then I help noone. So my goal with this blog ultimately means that I need to focus on keeping my heart and attitude in a good place. The Apostle Paul writes in Philippians 4:8 – “…whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” That’s a lofty goal. But it is a Biblical one.

Overall our lives should be lived according to the phrase mentioned above “quality over quantity” just as I desire my writing to be. I want my life to be lived according to leading of the Spirit. That’s when I will be able to share a QUALITY experience with those around me and with you, my reader.

How about you? Do you strive to live your life in the positive and praiseworthy according to Philippians 4:8? Do you try to live your life as quality over quantity? The number of hours in your day and the number of people you come in contact really mean nothing if you don’t have something praiseworthy of quality to share with them. Maybe we both need to work on this together.

8 thoughts on “Is Your Life One Of Quality Over Quantity?

  1. I am a mother, a teacher, a daughter, a friend, and many other things, so I have a very full life that I thank God for every day 🙂

    It’s funny, however, that sometimes I can’t think of things to blog about despite the richness of my life and the many adventures that happen each and every day.

    My trick? I start writing about my socks. I know it sounds silly, but I eventually come around to a point that makes a good post.

  2. I just stopped over from Saturday Sampling. It’s my first visit, but it won’t be my last. I really enjoyed the post. My Bible study group is currently doing Elizabeth George’s “A Woman’s High Calling” and your thoughts today go right along with it. I seem to be running into a lot of that lately as I read blogs. Do you suppose God’s trying to teach me something? LOL

    • Thank you for stopping by! I have taught that EG study you are doing. I believe we were meant to find one another. I’m going to check out your blog next. 🙂

  3. You make a great point. I have posted less this last year because I don’t want to post just to post. However, I am not as goal-oriented as you are on that account; I simply let go of the “obligation” to blog.I admire your purpose for blogging. Thanks for linking this up.

Leave a Reply

