Please Tell Me I’m Not The Only One

If you read my blog somewhat regularly you know that one of my 3 in 30 goals for June is to declutter. The decluttering is just about done actually. Michael and I will be loading up my vehicle this weekend with all the stuff we are shedding around here and heading North with it all. We are going to Ohio next week and Mom and I are going to have a garage sale. Why yes – I have lost my mind! Thank you for asking. When we moved about 5 years ago we had the biggest garage sale of our lives. It just so happens that we also sold our house at that sale but I don’t count that in the total profits. Without selling the house we made $700 and STILL had to haul away ONE TON of junk to the county dump. I know it was a ton because you have to pay by weight. So from that day till now I have sworn off all yard sales. TOO MUCH WORK! SInce that time I have just been donating everything. I never wanted to be in that position again to be so overrun with stuff. So we have kept the clutter to a minimum around here.

Donating all this stuff was exactly what I had in mind to do. Then a couple of things came up. Michael’s car A/C went out. That will cost $600 to fix. We are requiring him to pay a portion of it. He doesn’t have a job and doesn’t have time to get one right now (too busy). And there is a lot of things I want to do to get my Advocare business up and rolling but need money for that. So, I figured we were sitting on a gold mine of clutter. My mom is a professional garage saler – going to them and having them. Michael and I were already planning to go up there this coming week. So, there you have it – we are lugging all our stuff to another state and selling it. Just so you know I will NOT be lugging any of it back to this house. What doesn’t sell up there will go to charity up there.

So I currently have boxes and garbage bags sitting in piles all over the house that somehow is eventually gonna have to fit in my Santa Fe. The thing about me and clutter though is that it depresses me. So while I know it is all going to be gone in a week right now it is starting to drag me down. I also get depressed when some big event is coming up – that is really weird, I know. Not only is the garage sale next week IN OHIO but Ron will not be with us. Not only those things but Lauren also leaves Sunday for a two week leadership program at JH Ranch in Northern California. So, while I’m working at keeping myself calm I can feel some of the strings breaking inside.

Am I the only one who is like this? Please tell me I’m not.

One thought on “Please Tell Me I’m Not The Only One

  1. OK, I gave you a hard time via twitter about this, so I figure I’ll be nice this time around. Seriously, you can handle it! Take one item at a time; rely on Michael’s help, and enjoy the visit with your folks!

Leave a Reply

