Something New….Again

If you remember, last month I had a new treatment for my Fibromyalgia headaches. I have had a number of treatments over the years. I don’t think I could really even list them all. I’ve tried different procedures, treatments and medications. Some have worked and some have not. Last fall I had two separate procedures done to burn the nerves in my neck. That has worked fairly well. However, I was still experiencing debilitating headaches. They weren’t as frequent but they were just as intense when they did come. My terrific pain management doctor suggested a different procedure that would have to be approved by my insurance company. He suggested we try Botox. My appointment was on May 27th. I’ve been waiting to write an update here in order to get the full picture of whether or not it helped me. The first two weeks I didn’t really notice a difference. However, I have noticed in the last couple of weeks that my headaches have decreased. I’ve not had the same intensity of pain. I have gotten headaches and even had one that lasted a few days. But I think I can tell a slight difference. I’m not convinced it is enough of a difference to repeat the process though.

Today I had my monthly follow up visit and asked to have my pain medicine changed. I had been on the previous pain medication for about 3 years and have been noticing for a long time now that it has not been as effective as it was in the beginning. So she switched me to something fairly new called Nucynta. I had never heard of it before. As a matter of fact my regular pharmacy didn’t carry it. The pharmacist called four different pharmacies to locate it for me. It is a narcotic similar to morphine.

I will update in a few weeks to let everyone know how it helps/doesn’t help me. If you have a chronic illness you are, no doubt, skeptical about a new medication. Gone are the days of getting my hopes up and high expectations. Now I just kind of hold out a couple of weeks to see how it’s gonna work. So, at this point I am neutral. I’m not expecting much. I will keep you posted. Cross your fingers.

2 thoughts on “Something New….Again

  1. That sounds really interesting! I’m currently using percacet but its losing its effectiveness but really don’t want to up my dosage b/c I think I’ll itch myself crazy. Maybe I’ll talk to my pain doc about this one!

Leave a Reply

