Once Upon A July I Went Crazy

What a month June has been! Whew! It has gone by so fast. But then all of our summers are always so busy. My household calendar  is very colorful for July. See:

July

Each color is for a different person. If I tried to tell you the order of events for the remaining days of the summer it would make your head spin. July always makes me crazy. Honestly, each summer I am surprised that I live through July and see August appear.

And that brings me to my July 3 in 30 goals. My June worked out just right. I have stayed on top of the laundry (meaning we haven’t been chased out of the bedroom by a mutant pile of dirty clothes), I have decluttered everything I wanted to declutter and I have organized my office and made room for my Advocare business. While we did not end up have the yard sale in Ohio like planned I am still pleased to have gone through everything in this house and have it all boxed/bagged up. We are planning to have a garage sale here later in the summer.

Now, on with July! I have been thinking about what goals to set for July. As you can see from my calendar, July is crazy busy. For that reason I am gonna set some lighter goals. So here we go:

1. Laundry….oh the laundry. It is my nemesis but I will not abandon it. I will stay on top of it if it kills me. And some days I hope it would just so I didn’t have to fight it anymore. But that is looking doubtful at this point so it will remain on my list. I want to do at least ONE load of laundry EVERY day. Even though I dread it every day I have noticed when I do complete a load from start to finish makes me feel better about myself. My fibromyalgia keeps me from being able to do housework every day. So accomplishing a load of laundry helps me feel less like a failure to my family.

2. Lose 5 pounds. Yes, you read that right. I’ve used a lot of blog space in the past talking about how I’m gonna lose weight. blah blah blah But I have discovered that participating in the 3 in 30 program I find myself staying motivated to meet those goals. I know that others are struggling to meet theirs and the encouragement helps. So I am putting myself out there to meet this goal.

3. Spend time with the Lord every day. Why is it that this is such a hard thing to commit to? I know I’m not the only one who has a hard time with this. It’s easy to get distracted and move this to the bottom of the list. So I am making it part of my goals. I will spend time in the Word and in prayer each day.

I think these goals will be easy to keep up with while living my crazy July. Do you have some things you need to get done but keep putting off? You should come check the 3 in 30 challenge. It really is helpful and the support is awesome! I’m heading there now to link up and visit some blogs.

11 thoughts on “Once Upon A July I Went Crazy

  1. I use different colors for everyone too. It makes it soooo much easier to just glance at the calendar and see who’s doing what at which time. 🙂 Good luck on your goals.

  2. Those are great goals 🙂 I’m with you on the laundry – I’ve found that if I do a load a day I don’t get overwhelmed – but if I miss a day? Oh my!

  3. Your goals sound reasonable and you are not alone. I think we all struggle spending time with Him because we are such a go go go culture. We can’t sit down. I try to spend at least 30 minutes a day doing this. That being said since our move, I’m lucky for 5 minutes.

    I once said that I would rather clean a men’s washroom at a fast food restaurant than do laundry and I stand by that comment. I find if I put on a load to wash before bed then put it in the dryer first thing in the morning and fold sometime during the day that I can keep up with the laundry.

  4. My calendars have ALWAYS been color coded …. helps me keep track of who’s coming and going.

    I struggle with making time for prayer, and have discovered if I START MY DAY there, then things fall into place.

Leave a Reply

