Like Oil and Water

Today’s post is a contribution from my Twitter friend, Karen. Karen deals with many disabling conditions in addition to Fibromyalgia. Yet she is always encouraging others and is always ready for a laugh. She’s my kind of girl!

 

Stress. Fibromyalgia. Like oil and water, those two things do not go together. Add to the mix that I am being challenged by God on a physical and emotional level to set some very much needed boundaries in my life and well … you have stress reeking havoc on my fibromyalgia which is reeking havoc on my body.

It’s been a challenging week physically. I came down with something uvulitis, which is the inflammation of that little thing that hangs down in the back of your throat. Apparently, if you become so dehydrated, you run the risk of it becoming inflamed which is what happened to me. It was so inflamed that every time I swallowed, I was unable to breath. The fibromyalgia pain was also so bad that I was unable to move, with again breathing being difficult due to the overwhelming pain searing through my body. Needless to say, it was off to the ER where doctors gave me some fluids and pain meds.

 

Recovery has been slow. I have slept a ton. Funny thing about sleeping that much is there is just no getting caught up on it. I still feel like I have been run over by a freight train, but I am alive and getting better one slow day at a time.

 

My recent spell made me take stock of my life. It’s almost as if it is God’s way of seeing how my therapy is going by putting me in situations that I have only talked about what to do with my therapist. And it’s not an easy challenge. I find myself on my knees asking God how Jesus was able to love people regardless. Loving people all the time regardless of their actions is difficult. At least it is for me. I just want to slap some people. Needless to say, Leah has helped me set up some boundaries with friends and family members. I am taking more time for myself. I surround myself with the people and things that make me happy … my cats, letters from my goddaughters, their photos. I take a nap everyday. On my calendar, I have blocked off the me time and my nap time. I do nothing during this times except for the intended purpose. Life is getting better. Now if I can just figure out how to do this loving thing without slapping someone silly, I will be doing good J

2 thoughts on “Like Oil and Water

  1. what a great post … the more I read about you … the more we are almost like twins {with things that we deal with}. This post could have been written by me ;.)

    have a BLESSED day!!

Leave a Reply

