Laundry, Soccer and the Bible

As we learned in Friday’s 3 in 30 update entry July was pretty much a bust! But I’m stoked and ready for August. First of all I’m stoked for August because the kids go back to school. That means no more traveling and no more whining about being bored. Yes teenagers still whine. And it is even more annoying…ok, that might be stretching it a bit…but it IS annoying. Both of my children will be seniors this year. So my August goals mainly focus on them. I can’t believe that this time next year we will be getting them ready to head off to their chosen colleges. I certainly am NOT old enough to have children this old. In my mind they are still in elementary school and I am still going to their classes a couple of times a week to volunteer. Oh well, I’m sure the next 365 days will be full of my own whining about this topic. Today’s purpose is to set goals for myself for August. So on with the goals!

I know you will all be surprised by my first goal – especially if you are a regular at 3 in 30. As a matter of fact you can probably repeat it with me. Are you ready?

1. Do at least one load of laundry a day. Why do I cringe every time I type the word “laundry”? All I really want out of life is to be like Meghan at The Tuckers Take Tennessee. I don’t even really need to LOVE doing laundry like she does. I’d settle for a mild level of tolerance. As it is now I despise it. I remember the days when I didn’t mind it at all. In fact I remember the days when I actually enjoyed it. When we lived in Joelton our laundry room was downstairs along with our homeschool classroom. I felt like such a housewife spending every morning downstairs teaching my children and keeping the laundry going. Anyway, I’m gonna get depressed if I keep focusing on laundry. I really want to hire Meghan to come to my house every day and do my laundry for me.

 

2. Since this is the kids’ last year of school that means it is their last year of playing soccer unless they play in college. What is my day to day life gonna be like with soccer? Focus Pam Focus!!! My goal for August is to go to every game whether I am dying or not. I would like to go to every practice too but I know that may not always be a possibility. But I don’t want to lose a single second of cheering on my kids. Soccer has been a part of my life since the kids were 5 and 6. That is approximately twenty-two soccer seasons times two children – FORTY FOUR SOCCER SEASONS. The end of this school year will be the end of that. Oh my word! Now I’m getting depressed. Thankfully Lauren is planning to go to Lipscomb University here in Nashville. So I can go over there to watch her play and cheer her on. Michael is planning to go to Tennessee Tech University in Cookeville. That’s about an hour away. So, I can even take a road trip over there to see him play if he chooses to do so. But as for August I will be at every single game and as many practices as I can get to. The same will go for the spring when Michael plays his last season as well.

Lauren at the Lipscomb soccer field

3. Bible study with Ron. Ron and I are planning on renewing our vows next June. Prior to that event we are gonna do our own “premarital” post marital counseling/study each Wednesday night here at home. If you are a regular reader of my blog you know that we have had our share of struggles in the past – doesn’t everyone – and have sought out counseling a number of times. This time we are gonna do a couple’s Bible study together and reinforce all we’ve heard and learned in the last 24 1/2 years of marriage. He has been on the look out for the right study for us. One study we are considerig is by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs called Love & Respect. The homework looks pretty intense. So, that is where my 3 in 30 goal comes in. I’ve found that unless I’m teaching I have a tendency to get behind on Bible Study homework. So my goal will be to find a study schedule that will work for me and plug myself into it.

Ok – there you have it! Now someone hold my feet to the fire and make sure I stay on track. Failure with these goals is not an option. These are investments into the future of my family. Ok, except for the laundry……………….UGH!!

If you need to set a goal for anything come to the 3 in 30 Challenge site and link up. Great means of support over there. And we encourage one another via Twitter as well.

Leave a Reply

