Slow Cooker Potato Soup for Homecoming Night

Tonight is homecoming for the ELMS Eagles!! Michael and Lauren and all their friends are coming here to paint up and get ready for the game. I’m even considering going. I’ve never had the fun of going to a homecoming game. Well, I take that back, I think I might have gone to one at Auburndale High School when we were pastoring in Auburndale Florida. But this is my kids last one so I don’t foresee anymore in my future until someday when I have grandkids.

I don’t wanna send them off to the game with empty stomachs. It’s gonna be perfect football weather with a little nip in the air. Ron is going out of town for the weekend so I decided to make homemade potato soup and cornbread for the kids to enjoy before they go to the game. I mentioned this on FB and had requests for my recipe. I admit I usually cheat when I make potato soup and use some in a package from the store. But I came across this recipe this week online so I’m giving it a shot. So, here’s the recipe:

Slow Cooker Potato Soup (I doubled it for a houseful of excited teenagers painted red and white!)

8 cups diced peeled potatoes

1/2 cup diced carrots

1/2 cup diced celery (I didn’t use this – bleck)

3 cans (14 1/2 oz) chicken broth

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 T parsley

2 t. salt

1 t. pepper

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 lb bacon, cooked and crumbled

5 T flour

1 8 oz package cream cheese

In a large slow cooker, combine all ingredients, minus the flour and cream cheese. Add salt/pepper to taste. Cook on low 8-10 hours or till potatoes are done. About an hour before serving add the cream cheese. Stir in till blended. About 30 minutes before serving scoop out a small portion of the soup and slowly whisk in the flour – whisking constantly to keep it from clumping. Add mixture back to crock pot. Stir till blended. Cook for 30 more minutes.

Of course dressing it up with shredded cheese on top makes everything taste better. And crumbling it over cornbread is heavenly.

If I had a picture of the finished product I would include it. And if I could include the yummy aroma of my house right now your mouth would be watering like mine. Let me know if you try it out.

5 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Potato Soup for Homecoming Night

  1. Our house is only a couple blocks from the high school. Three friends and I have season tickets together, and usually eat together here before home games. Although there is absolutely NO NIP in the air here yet, we’re still having chili tonight. And yes, the aroma is, in a word, INCREDIBLE right now!

  2. “And crumbling it over cornbread is heavenly.” You mean crumbling cornbread over the soup, right? Just making sure I’m not missing anything here. This sounds wonderful. How many “spoons” would you give it on a 5-spoon scale?

    • HA! Yes – that’s what I mean! 🙂 I give it 5 spoon rating!!!!! And apparently the 8 teenagers in my house that evening would too. I only got a couple of bites of a double recipe.

Leave a Reply

