Childhood Athletics and a Healthier Life

What a week! This time last weekend I was dreading this week because I knew I was having my RFA procedure again (explain that in a minute), had soccer games to go to and Ron was gonna be out of town. But some how I survived it and I didn’t even get stressed out. THAT is a God thing for sure!

Lauren’s final high school soccer season ended Thursday. They are playing in the District Tournament on Monday this coming week. But until she picks a college and we get her there she is done with organized soccer. I feel very good about it. Putting a child into an organized sport is so good for them. They learn so many skills – not just athletically but also a lot of character building skills. Our kids have played sports their entire childhood. I know that will serve them well for the rest of their lives. They learn responsibility, how to work as part of a team, self-control, anger management (wait that was MY lesson), how to live a healthy active lifestyle. All of are skills they will use in every area of their life for the rest of their lives. And I have no doubt we have set a standard for future generations in our family line.

Lady Eagles Soccer Seniors of 2012

Last fall I had a series of medical procedures done to help treat my daily headaches. It’s no surprise to any of you here that I suffer with chronic pain daily. If you’ve even stopped by my blog once you’ve probably picked up on that. The procedure I had done is called Radio Frequency Ablation (RFA). I went to my previous blog entry from last year where I talked about the process. I could pretty much write the exact same words to explain the procedure itself and my reactions during/after it to a degree. However there was one significant difference. Last year both procedures (one on each side of the neck) threw me into a major Fibromyalgia flare up for at least a week afterwards. This time for this first round it really only put me out of commission for 1 1/2 days. I even had a different doctor do it this time (not my choice) and there was MUCH more pain involved. What’s different about this time? The only thing I’m doing different this time is using the AdvoCare. For the last 5 1/2 months I have been drinking at least one Spark a day, taking daily doses of CorePlex and using the BioTools product daily. In some obvious ways, I can tell a big difference since I began using AdvoCare. And at times like this, when I would normally be in a flare, my health has improved dramatically.

Well, this coming week is Fall Break. That may mean a break from school for the kids. But I think that means the opposite for the parents. So, I’ll see ya when I see ya!

Leave a Reply

