Do You Pray for Your Husband’s Priorities?

I am still participating in the 31 Days to Pray for my spouse. I realize I haven’t posted about it for a few days. I have still been praying. I’ll catch you up here on what topics I have been praying for Ron.
I'm Joining the 31DBBS Challenge

I prayed for his integrity, that he makes the right choices for himself and us, his relationships with everyone and today I pray for his priorities. Matthew 22:37 says to love the Lord with all your passion and prayer and intelligence.

Father, I pray that Ron would have a proper prioritization of his relationship with You. I pray that all other tasks, relationships, hobbies, and responsibilities would fall into a natural succession because he has the proper priority of You as being the center of his life. Help me to encourage him to spend time with You, even at the “momentary expense” of his focus on me.

Life is about relationship and a healthy life is about priorities. Our first and foremost priority should always be our relationship with God. It’s when we lose that focus that we start floundering. We start trying to please others. We start trying to be who we are not. We begin thinking more about ourselves – “why isn’t he spending time with ME” “doesn’t she understand how that makes ME feel” “Going to church takes too much of MY time” “Sunday mornings are the only time I have to sleep in”…you get the idea! But think of how it would be if we focus on our relationship with God first. We could be better spouses to one another. We’d certainly be less selfish. If we pray for our husbands to have his priorities in proper line we can be sure that God is leading him and he can properly lead his family.

Where are MY priorities? Do I make God number one on my list? Do I put myself above his will in my life? Do you? Do I make myself my own idol? The Bible says if I put ANYTHING ahead of God then it becomes my idol. And God is a jealous God. He wants and expects us to put him first. How else will we know what his will is for ourselves, our relationships and our families? We should all be praying that our husband’s priorities are in the correct order.

One thought on “Do You Pray for Your Husband’s Priorities?

Leave a Reply

