He’s My Job and I Love Him

I'm Joining the 31DBBS Challenge I have taken a break from writing about the 31 Days to Pray for Your Spouse challenge. However, I have not taken a break from praying. I just haven’t been writing about them.

On January 9th I prayed for his emotions based on II Corinthians 10:5 – 5 “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” Don’t you just love that a verse? Boy, how hard is it to take captive every thought and make it obedient to Christ. Whew! That means you have to think before you speak. I don’t know about you but that’s hard for me. It also means you have to stop thinking negative things about self as well. My prayer is that Ron is led by the Spirit to make his thoughts the thoughts of Christ.

On January 10th I prayed for his Spiritual Growth based on Philippians 3:14 – 14 “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” That is the goal of every Christian – to keep on striving to be like Christ until one day we spend eternity with him. It’s so easy to become satisfied with the status quo in our spiritual life. I pray that Ron will always be striving to grow in his relationship with God.

On January 11th I prayed for his mind based on Romans 12:2 -” Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” This is always a challenge but I pray that as he is out in the world each day he will keep his mind focused on Christ and his will. It’s easy to listen to the lies of the world. But I pray Ron will be able to recognize the difference between the things of Christ and the things of the world and keep his focus where it should be.

And today, January 12th, I pray for his work based on Colossians 3:23 – “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,” As I’ve mentioned before, Ron is a workaholic. He is a perfectionist. He loves what he does. And to be honest, when you work for a denomination (we are FWB) it’s hard for the people of the denomination to remember that ultimately Ron works for the Lord. It’s very difficult to work the vision that God has given when the people around you are trying to throw obstacles in the way. But my prayer is that God will not only help Ron to keep his eye on what God wants him to do to lead our denomination but that the people will trust that what he does is from God. Ron is very good with partnering with others to bring a plan together. Lord, I ask that you continue to give him a vision of what you want him and our denomination to do in the future and help our people to trust him and support him.

You know – I love praying for Ron. He’s the man God gave me to be my partner in my life. It’s my job to support him, encourage him and pray for him. I love my job!

Leave a Reply

